Introduction

Temporary Storage Service for Cremains in government facilities is a transitional arrangement. The cremains of any person meeting concerned criteria are eligible to apply for being kept in the temporary storage facility for cremains of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD). At present, the temporary storage facility for cremains in Kwai Chung Crematorium is limited to storage of cremains bags only (cinerary urns are not accepted) while the temporary storage facility in Wo Hop Shek Columbarium is limited to storage of cinerary urns only (cremains bags are not accepted). The storage period for application of temporary storage service for cremains, which is extendable, is either 3, 6 or 12 months. The monthly charge is $80.

If necessary, the public may use the existing worshipping facilities in the columbarium near the temporary storage facility for cremains for paying tribute to their beloved ones.  Besides, users of the temporary storage facility for cremains in Kwai Chung Crematorium may also use the digital worshipping facility adjacent to the New Kwai Chung Gardens of Remembrance for leaving messages on the dedicated memorial page of the deceased.

The cremains of any person meeting the following criteria are eligible for being kept in the temporary storage facilities for cremains of FEHD:

Application for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains

For applying the temporary storage service for cremains, the applicant has to fill in the Application for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains and submit in person together with the required documents to one of the following Cemeteries and Crematoria Offices. For submission by post / fax (Fax No.: 2765 6402) / email (cc@fehd.gov.hk), only copies of the required documents are required. This Department will verify the concerned documents when interviewing the applicant. Please refer to Notes of the relevant application form for details.

  1. Application for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains
    1. a copy of his or her own identity card; and
    2. a copy of the identity card of the deceased; and
    3. a copy of the Permit to Take Away Cremated Ashes or Certificate of Cremation of the deceased [This is not applicable to applicants who have already applied for cremains transfer service.]; or
    4. a copy of the document(s) proofing the cremains of deceased were interred in a private columbarium in Hong Kong prior to the submission of application (e.g. "commencement of ash disposal notice" issued by the private columbarium concerned, the sale and purchase agreement signed with the private columbarium, etc.). Otherwise, the applicant shall make a declaration in the course of interview with FEHD staff in confirming the cremains of deceased were interred in a private columbarium in Hong Kong prior to the submission of application.
    1. The applicant has to produce the following documents (i.e. items i & ii & iii; or items i & ii & iv):
    2. Submit the completed form of Application for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains together with the copies of the above documents and place into the drop box for collection of Application Forms for Temporary Storage Service for Cremains in one of the following offices. After vetting concerned application, staff of FEHD will make an appointment with the applicant for verifying the supporting documents and processing the application. The date of commencement of the storage period for temporary storage service for cremains will be assigned by FEHD. FEHD will normally grant approval within 10 working days after receiving the application.
    3. Upon FEHD's approval for the application, an approval letter will be issued to the applicant. The applicant could either pay the charge fees at the Offices or opt to pay the fees online by credit card or by Payment by Phone Service (PPS) through the “Online Payment System for Cemeteries and Crematoria Services” on FEHD website.
  2. Extension of the Temporary Storage Service for Cremains
    1. One month prior to expiry of storage period, a letter reminding to retrieve the stored cremains or to extend  the storage period will be issued to applicant.
    2. The applicant or the authorised person could present either of the following documents at any one of the below Cemeteries and Crematoria Offices for extension of storage period:
      1. the letter reminding extension of storage period or retrieval of cremains; or
      2. the approval letter of first application; or
      3. the receipt of last payment.
    3. Applicant could choose to extend the storage period for 3, 6 or 12 months. Staff will approve the application direct and collect the required service fee instantly.
  3. Application for Retrieval of Cremains
    1. The applicant or authorised person has to make appointment for retrieval of cremains with office of concerned temporary storage facility not less than 3 working days before the intended date of retrieval and submit together with the original of the documents listed below to the concerned office on the day of retrieval:
      1. The original of HKID card of the applicant;
      2. The original of the Permit to Take Away Cremated Ashes or Certificate of Cremation of the deceased;
      3. The original of the receipt for temporary storage service.
      4. The authorisation letter with copy of HKID of the applicant and authorised person (if applicable).
    2. If there is any outstanding storage fee before the intended date of retrieval of cremains, applicant or authorised person has to pay the outstanding fee at either one of the below Cemeteries and Crematoria Offices prior to the retrieval of cremains.
    3. In the event that the cremains are retrieved before the end of the approved storage period for which payment was made, fees will be refunded based on the remaining number of months (days that do not add up to one month will be disregarded). If there is any refund, it will be in the form of crossed cheque delivered to your correspondence address by post within three (3) weeks from the date of retrieval.

The Addresses of Cemeteries and Crematoria Offices:

  1. 1J Wong Nai Chung Road, Happy Valley, Hong Kong.
    Enquiry telephone number: 2570 4318
    Fax number: 2591 1879
  2. Upper Ground Floor, 6 Cheong Hang Road, Hung Hom, Kowloon.
    Enquiry telephone number: 2365 5321
    Fax number: 2176 4963
  3. 1/F, Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices, 303 Cheung Sha Wan Road, Kowloon.
    Enquiry telephone number: 2150 7502
    Fax number: 2765 6402

The Addresses of Temporary Storage Facilities for Cremains

  1. Kwai Chung Crematorium, 13 Wing Hau Street, Kwai Chung
    Enquiry telephone number: 2614 4390
    Fax number: 2439 6435
  2. Wo Hop Shek Kiu Tau Road Columbarium Phase V
    Enquiry telephone number: 2696 4031
    Fax number: 2696 4827

简介

政府骨灰暂存设施属过渡安排,凡符合有关所需准则人士的骨灰,可申请暂存在食物环境卫生署(食环署)的骨灰暂存设施内。目前,位于葵涌火葬场的骨灰暂存设施只接受存放骨灰袋(骨灰甕恕不接纳);而位于和合石灵灰安置所的骨灰暂存设施只接受存放骨灰甕(骨灰袋恕不接纳)。申请骨灰暂存服务的存放期分为三、六或十二个月,期满可续期,收费为每月80元。

市民如需拜祭先人,可以使用有关骨灰暂存设施附近灵灰安置所内的现有设施进行拜祭。此外,使用葵涌火葬场骨灰暂存设施的人士亦可使用在新葵涌纪念花园旁的电子悼念设施,在先人专页留言表达对先人的悼念。

凡符合下列准则人士的骨灰,均可暂存在食环署辖下的骨灰暂存设施内:

申请骨灰暂存服务

如欲申请骨灰暂存服务,申请人须填妥申请骨灰暂存服务表格,然后连同所需文件,亲身递交到下列各坟场及火葬场办事处。如以邮递 / 传真(传真号码:2765 6402)/ 电邮(cc@fehd.gov.hk)等方式递交申请,须提交所需文件的副本,并在本署职员约见申请人时,提供有关文件正本以供核实。申请详情及细则,请参阅有关申请表格内的注意事项。

  1. 申请服务所需文件
    1. 申请人须具备的文件(即以下i及ii及iii项;或i及ii及iv项):
      1. 申请人的身分证副本;及
      2. 先人的身分证副本;及
      3. 先人之领取骨灰许可证或火葬证明书副本[此项不适用于已申请骨灰转送服务的申请人。];或
      4. 证明先人骨灰在递交申请前曾存放于香港的私营骨灰安置所内之证明文件副本(例如:有关私营骨灰安置所发出的「展开骨灰处置通告」、与私营骨灰安置所签订的买卖合约等)。否则,申请人在食环署职员约见时须作出声明确认先人骨灰在递交申请前曾存放于香港的私营骨灰安置所内。
    2. 将已填妥的申请骨灰暂存服务表格,连同上述文件的副本,投放到下列各办事处的骨灰暂存服务申请表格收集箱内。食环署职员会在审查有关申请后,约见申请人核实有关文件及办理相关申请。骨灰暂存服务的开始存放日由食环署编配。食环署在接获申请后,一般会在十个工作天内完成批核。

    3. 食环署批准有关服务的申请后,会发出批准信给申请人,申请人可在相关办事处缴交费用,或选择登入食环署网页的「坟场及火葬场服务网上缴费系统」于网上以信用咭或「缴费灵」缴交有关费用。
  2. 申请续期
    1. 于骨灰暂存服务存放期届满前一个月,食环署会向申请人发出续期或领回先人骨灰通知书。

    2. 申请人或获其授权人士可携同以下任何一样文件,直接到下列各办事处办理续期:

      1. 续期或领回先人骨灰通知书;或
      2. 初次申请时的批核信;或
      3. 最近期的付款收据。
    3. 申请人可选择续期三、六或十二个月,办事处职员会即时批核有关申请,申请人随即可以在办事处缴交续期所须的费用。

  3. 申请取回暂存骨灰
    1. 申请人或获其授权人士须在拟取回骨灰日期不少于三个工作天前,与有关骨灰暂存设施办事处职员预约。而于取回骨灰当日,携带以下文件的正本,亲身前往有关骨灰暂存设施办事处办理手续。

      1. 申请人的身分证正本。
      2. 先人之领取骨灰许可证或火葬证明书正本。
      3. 骨灰暂存收据的正本。
      4. 授权信、申请人及获授权人士的身分证副本(如适用)。
    2. 如在拟取回骨灰日期前有过期费用未缴付,申请人或获其授权人士须先到下列的坟场及火葬场办事处缴交有关费用,才可取回先人骨灰。

    3. 如在骨灰暂存服务存放期内取回骨灰,退款将以剩余月数计算(日数不足一个月者不获退款)。如有任何退款,本署将在申请人取回骨灰的日期起计三星期内,以划线支票邮寄到申请人的联络地址。

坟场及火葬场办事处地址:

  1. 跑马地黄泥涌道1号 J (香港坟场侧)
    查询电话:2570 4318
    传真号码:2591 1879
  2. 红磡畅行道6号地下高层
    查询电话:2365 5321
    传真号码:2176 4963
  3. 九龙长沙湾道303号长沙湾政府合署1楼
    查询电话:2150 7502
    传真号码:2765 6402

骨灰暂存设施地址:

  1. 葵涌永孝街13号葵涌火葬场

    查询电话:2614 4390
    传真号码:2439 6435

  2. 和合石桥头路和合石灵灰安置所第五期
    查询电话:2696 4031
    传真号码:2696 4827