Street Cleansing Waste Collection Gully Cleansing Conservancy Services Poster Removal Public Refuse Collection Points Public Toilets Public Bathhouses Vehicles

Street Cleansing

Performance Pledge

Street Cleansing The Department and its cleansing contractors have a total workforce of about 11,900 to keep the city clean and provide cleansing services, including street sweeping, waste collection and other cleansing work in Hong Kong. Workers normally begin working at daybreak and continue until late evening. All streets are manually swept at least once everyday. In the main commercial and tourist areas, streets are swept an average of four times a day, and up to eight times a day in the busiest pedestrian areas.

Street Cleansing Complementing manual sweeping are 10 nos. of contractor's mechanical sweepers used to cleanse highways, flyovers and central road dividers and other high-use traffic areas. These mechanical sweepers normally swing into action after midnight when there is less traffic. The Department and its cleansing contractors have a total of 113 street washing vehicles which operate day and night with the frequency of street washing ranging from on need basis to daily depending on the nature of the area served.

The Department has continued to contract out street cleansing services for greater efficiency and cost-saving.

To help keep Hong Kong tidy, about 13,600 litter containers and about 1,900 dog excreta collection bins are placed on the streets. They are cleared at least once a day. Moreover, with a view to promoting public participation in waste reduction and environmental protection, recyclables collection bins have now been provided at 1,982 locations at public places (see appended list) including streets, refuse collection points, public markets, bus termini, MTR exits etc. for the collection of waste paper, metal and plastic materials.

This Department carries out daily enforcement action to prosecute littering offenders. To step up law enforcement to keep Hong Kong clean, the Fixed Penalty System against the following common public cleanliness offences is introduced: -

  1. Littering;
  2. Spitting;
  3. Unauthorized display of bills or posters; and
  4. Fouling of street by dog faeces.

The level of fixed penalty is $1,500 effective from 26 June 2003.

During the year of 2018, enforcement officers of the Department issued over 49,600 fixed penalty notices against cleanliness offences. The cases involved a total fines of about $ 74.40 million.

To facilitate the public to report cases of the littering from vehicle, a Littering From Vehicle - Report Form (in PDF format) has been introduced by this Department. This form is obtainable at the District Environmental Health Offices and the District Offices of the Home Affairs Department.

Internet Protocol Camera Installation Scheme

The Department has installed Internet Protocol (IP) cameras at illegal refuse deposit blackspots (in PDF Format) to combat illegal deposits of refuse and improve environmental hygiene. The Department will closely monitor the targeted blackspots and suitably adjust its action plans in light of actual circumstances, including the relocation of IP camera in a timely manner, so as to enhance the effectiveness of enforcement actions. The Department would continue to combat illegal refuse deposits in a multi-pronged approach including enhancements in public education, street cleansing work and enforcement action.

Waste Collection

Performance Pledge

waste collectionThe Department and its cleansing contractors operate some 251 modern refuse collection vehicles. Every day, about 5,920 tonnes of household waste is collected, including 1,070 tonnes from Hong Kong Island, 1,820 tonnes from Kowloon and 3,030 tonnes from the New Territories and outlying islands. They are taken to the refuse transfer stations or landfills managed by the Environmental Protection Department.

Gully Cleansing

Performance Pledge

Gully CleansingRoadside gullies are generally cleared manually every two to four weeks. Application of larvicidal oil is done on weekly basis as a precaution against mosquito breeding. Dirt and refuse taken from gullies are delivered to refuse collection points. Gully emptiers are used to clear gully traps on highways and flyovers where manual means will pose danger to life and limb. Such gullies are desilted once every six weeks. The Department currently employs 3 in-house gully emptiers and 6 contractor's gully emptiers to provide gully emptying service, and they are normally employed after midnight when traffic is light. The silt and dirt sucked up into gully emptiers are discharged at refuse transfer stations.

Conservancy Services

Performance Pledge

Conservancy services are still provided to some old tenements on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon where there is no sewerage system by 1 contractor's specially designed nightsoil vehicle. Furthermore, the department currently employs 4 in-house desludging vehicles and 4 contractor's desludging vehicles to empty sludge from septic tanks and aqua privies. Desludging service for individual members of the public is provided upon their requests and at a charge. Nightsoil and sludge collected will be transported to Sewage Treatment Works of the Drainage Services Department for disposal.

Poster Removal

Poster Removal It is an offence to display bills and posters in any streets or public places throughout Hong Kong without the permission of the Lands Department and this Department, or in case of private land, without the permission of the owner or occupier. Every day, the staff of the Department will, in addition to patrolling the streets and removing unauthorized posters, take out prosecution action against any person found responsible for placing such posters.

Where a bill or poster is displayed on any private land or on any Government land, the bill or poster shall be maintained in a clean and tidy condition.

Public Refuse Collection Points

Performance Pledge

Refuse Collection Points The Department has a total of permanent off-street public refuse collection points (RCPs), 12 temporary RCPs; 864 village-type RCPs/RCPs with temporary structures; and about 1,900 bin sites. As regards the permanent off-street RCPs, there are on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and in the New Territories and on outlying islands. New RCPs, which are visually attractive as well as odourless, are equipped with water scrubber systems, vehicle exhaust extraction systems and high pressure water jet cleaners. In addition, large-scale turn-tables are installed in certain RCPs to facilitate the in and out movements of refuse collection vehicles.

Refuse Collection Points Refuse collection vehicles of the Department and its cleaning contractors will collect household refuse at least once a day at public refuse collection points which are generally in operation from 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. For those in busy areas, the operation hours are extended to 11:30 p.m.. All RCPs receive household refuse during operation hours. For other category of wastes, public should deliver them to landfills / refuse transfer stations managed by the Environmental Protection Department or public filling facilities managed by the Civil Engineering and Development Department.

"No Illegal Dumping of Wastes"

Public Toilets

Performance Pledge

Altogether public toilets come under this Department - on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and in the New Territories and on outlying islands. In addition, there are 51 aqua privies in the New Territories and on outlying island.  Others, at parks, beaches and other recreational venues, are managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

Public Toilets All public toilets are open 24 hours a day and are cleansed at least twice a day.

The main features of modern public toilets are as follows :

In order to upgrade old public toilets to the latest standard of provision, the Department has embarked on a programme of improvement. In 2018, 14 public toilets have been upgraded.

Public Bathhouses

Public Bathhouses In older districts where poor housing accommodation still exists, the Department provides public bathhouses, of which are on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and in the New Territories and on outlying islands. Currently, cleansing services for public bathhouses are contracted out.

The opening hours of public bathhouses are generally from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. and from 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. daily. The provision of hot water starts from any day in November every year when the temperature at 7 a.m. is recorded at 20°C or below, and stops when the temperature at 7 a.m. is recorded at 25°C or above for three consecutive days in April the following year.

Vehicles

At present, the following specialized vehicles are used by the Department in cleansing services:

Refuse Collection Vehicles

Refuse Collection Vehicles 1 Refuse Collection Vehicles 2 Refuse Collection Vehicles 3
Refuse Collection Vehicles 4 Refuse Collection Vehicles 5 Refuse Collection Vehicles 6
Refuse Collection Vehicles 7 Refuse Collection Vehicles 8  

Other Specialised Vehicles

Other Specialised Vehicles

清扫街道收集垃圾清理沟渠清粪服务清理海报公众垃圾收集站公厕公共浴室车辆

清扫街道

服务承诺

清扫街道

本署及洁淨服务承办商共约 11,900 名洁淨组员工肩负本港的清洁重任并提供洁淨服务,包括清扫街道、收集垃圾及其他清洁服务。清洁工人每日清晨开始工作,直至晚上。所有街道每天由清洁工人最少清扫 1 次。主要商业区和旅游地点的街道,平均每天清扫 4 次,而行人众多的地区更每日清扫街道达 8 次之多。

清扫街道

除人手清扫街道外,本署的洁淨服务承办商现时使用 10 辆机动扫街车以清扫公路、天桥及道路中央分隔栏。这些机动扫街车通常在午夜后才操作,以避过日间繁忙的交通。此外,本署及洁淨服务承办商共备有113辆洗街车不分昼夜地工作,清洗街道。街道清洗的次数会因应地区而调整,由有需要才清洗至每天清洗不等。

为提高工作效率及节省费用,本署会继续将街道洁淨服务外批。

为保持市容整洁,本署在街道上设置约 13,600 多个废屑箱和约 1,900 个狗粪收集箱,由员工及承办商工人至少每天清理 1 次。此外,现时本署亦在全港 1,982 处公众地方(见附表)如街道、垃圾收集站、公众街市、 公共巴士总站、港铁站出口等设置废物回收箱,分别回收废纸、金属及塑胶物料等可循环再造废物,藉此提高市民支持废物回收再造的意识及宣传环保的重要性。

本署每天都会进行执法行动,检控乱抛垃圾的人士。为了加强执法,保持香港清洁,政府实施定额罚款制度,针对以下常见的公众地方洁淨违例事项: -

  1. 乱抛垃圾;
  2. 随地吐痰;
  3. 未经准许而展示招贴或海报;以及
  4. 让犬只粪便弄污街道。

定额罚款由2003年6月26日起为港币1,500元。

在 2018年,本署的执法人员就上述洁淨违例事项共发出逾 49,600 张定额罚款通知书。个案的罚款总额约为 7,440 万元。

为方便市民举报从车上抛掷垃圾的个案,本署已印备「从车上抛掷垃圾─举报表格(PDF)」,市民可在本署各区环境卫生办事处及民政事务总署各区民政事务处索取。

网络摄录机计划

本署已于各区非法弃置垃圾黑点(PDF)安装网络摄录机,以加强打击违例弃置垃圾的情况,改善环境卫生。本署人员会密切监察该些目标黑点,因应实际情况适当调整相关行动计划,包括适时迁移摄录机以加强执法成效。本署会继续以多管齐下的方式打击非法弃置垃圾包括加强公众教育、街道洁淨工作及执法行动。


收集垃圾

收集垃圾

本署及洁淨服务承办商合共提供约 251 辆现代化垃圾车的车队。现时,每日收集到的家居废物约有 5,920 公吨,包括港岛区 1,070 公吨、九龙区 1,820 公吨及新界和离岛区 3,030 公吨。这些废物会运往环境保护署所管理的废物转运站及垃圾堆填区。


清理沟渠

服务承诺

清理沟渠

在本港的道路上,大部分排水沟渠的垃圾和沙泥是由本署员工及承办商工人以人手清理,通常每 2-4 星期清理 1 次,每星期需加上灭蚊油,以防蚊虫滋生。从沟渠清理出来的垃圾和沙泥,则送往垃圾收集站处理。在高速公路及行车天桥上的沟渠,则使用吸渠车清理,因为在这些地区以人手清渠,容易引起交通意外。这些地区的沟渠每六星期清理1次。现时本署及洁淨服务承办商分别有 3 及 6 辆吸渠车。吸渠车清理出来的沙泥碎石是送往废物转运站处理的。


清粪服务

服务承诺

本署洁淨服务承办商的1辆经特别设计的清粪车继续为港岛及九龙区若干欠缺污水系统的旧式楼宇提供清粪服务。此外,现时本署及洁淨服务承办商分别使用4及4辆吸渠粪车以清理化粪池或旱厕。如市民提出要求清理化粪池并缴付费用,署方亦会为其提供服务。粪便及污泥收集后会运往渠务署的污水处理厂处理。


清理海报

清理海报

任何人士未得地政总署及本署批准,在本港各街道或公共地方张贴标语或海报,或在私人土地未获得该土地的拥有人或占用人准许,均属违法。本署职员除每日巡逻各街道并将违例街招等除去外,亦会对任何未得批准而张贴海报的人士提出检控。

凡在私人土地上或政府土地上展示任何招贴或海报,该招贴或海报须保持清洁整齐。


公众垃圾收集站

服务承诺

垃圾收集站

本署共有个永久离街垃圾收集站、12个临时垃圾收集站、864个乡村式/临时构筑垃圾收集站,以及约1,900个放置垃圾桶的地点。永久离街垃圾收集站分别有 个设于港岛区个设于九龙区个设于新界及离岛区。新建的垃圾收集站外型美观而又无臭,站内装设有水剂涤气系统、车辆废气抽气系统及高压清洗水枪。此外,部分垃圾收集站亦设有大型转车台以方便垃圾车进出。

垃圾收集站

本署及洁淨服务承办商的垃圾收集车辆会每天到公众垃圾收集站收集家居废物1次或以上。这些垃圾收集站的开放时间一般是每天上午7时至下午3时30分,而在繁忙地区,则延长至晚上11时30分。在开放时间内,所有垃圾收集站均收纳家居废物。至于其他类别的废物,市民应自行运往由环境保护署管理的堆填区、废物转运站或由土木工程拓展署管理的公众填土设施。

切勿随处倾卸废物


公厕

服务承诺

公厕

由本署负责管理的公厕共有间,其中 间设在港岛区间设在九龙区间设在新界及离岛区。除此,另有51间旱厕设在新界及离岛区。此外,设在公园、沙滩及其他康乐场地内的厕所则由康乐及文化事务署负责管理。所有公厕都是24小时开放,每天由承办商清洗最少 2 次。

新式公厕主要的设施如下:

为使现有的公厕能符合新厘定的标准和要求,署方已展开改善工程计划。在2018年,本署共有14间公厕完成翻新工程。


公共浴室

公共浴室

在本港的一些旧区内仍然有少数设备未合乎现今卫生标准的楼宇存在,这些楼宇并没有设置浴室。署方在这些地区内建有公共浴室,其中 间设在港岛间设在九龙设在新界及离岛区。现时,公共浴室的清洁工作已外批予合约承办商。

公共浴室每天的开放时间一般由上午7至9时,及由下午4时30分至晚上8时30分。每年11月份任何首天上午7时录得摄氏20度或以下,便开始供应热水给市民沐浴,直至翌年4月份任何连续3天上午7时录得摄氏25度或以上,便会停止热水供应。


车辆

署方现时使用下列特别用途车辆,提供洁淨服务:

垃圾收集车

垃圾收集车相片1 垃圾收集车相片2 垃圾收集车相片3
垃圾收集车相片4 垃圾收集车相片5 垃圾收集车相片6
垃圾收集车相片7 垃圾收集车相片8  

其他特别用途车

其他特种车