how to apply series and faq
FAQ>Water Seepage / Dripping

Water Seepage / Dripping

Water Seepage
   
1. What are the common causes of water seepage?
   
  Common causes of water seepage :
  1. leakage in the drainage pipes of the upper, adjacent or your own flat
  2. leakage in the water supply pipes of the upper, adjacent or your own flat
  3. deteriorated waterproofing of floor slabs or bath-tub seals
  4. seepage of waste water or rain water through roof / external wall
     
2. How do we find out the causes of water seepage in residential flats?
   
 
In most cases, water seepage is caused by leakage from defective water pipes, sanitary fitments or drainage pipes. Usually, these defects can be rectified by simple repair works. Owners should directly engage a building technician or licensed plumber to identify the cause of seepage for prompt repairs. Please also refer to the investigation methods in the "Do-it-yourself Water Seepage Test" PDF pamphlet of “Do-it-yourself Water Seepage Test”pamphlet as published by the Joint Office.
   
3. How should disputes over water seepage be settled?
   
 
Owners have the responsibility for maintaining and managing their building, which include resolving any seepage problem. You should quickly approach your neighbour for investigation and repair work to resolve the problem if the seepage is suspected to originate from the flat on the upper floor or next door. Besides, assistance may be sought from the management firm or the Owners' Corporation of your building. Where necessary, you should with the engagement of a building professional or legal consultant request the responsible person to stop the seepage in accordance with the provisions under the Deed of Mutual Covenant, or even lodge a claim for damages.
   
4. What assistance can government departments offer?
   
 
If you cannot resolve the problem of water seepage with your neighbour, please call “1823” for assistance. Upon receipt of the seepage complaint, the Joint Office will carry out a preliminary investigation. If the seepage has posed a sanitary nuisance, the Joint Office will act in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance. If the seepage is mild or intermittent or if the source of seepage cannot be identified after investigation, Government intervention will cease.
   
5. What is the role of the newly set up Joint Office?
   
 
The Joint Office set up by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and the Buildings Department aims to provide a "one-stop" service in dealing with complaints of seepage in buildings. Its role is to enforce the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance in abating any nuisance caused by water seepage. If necessary, the Joint Office will refer cases to the Buildings Department or the Water Supplies Department for follow up action. For example, the Buildings Department will tackle the problem of building dilapidations and defective drains under the Buildings Ordinance, while Water Supplies Department will check if there is any wastage of water under the Waterworks Ordinance.
   
6. How long will it take for the Joint Office to investigate the cause of water seepage?
   
 
According to the investigation work procedure, the Joint Office will contact the complainant within six working days upon receipt of a complaint. The staff will first inspect the site and then enter the flat under complaint to carry out non-destructive tests systematically so as to identify the seepage source. With the co-operation of the concerned owners/occupiers, normally the Joint Office will complete the investigation and inform the complainant of the outcome within 90 working days. If the investigation cannot be completed within 90 working days, the Joint Office will notify the complainant of the investigation progress in writing.
   
7. Is the Joint Office vested with statutory powers to stop water seepage?
   
 
The Joint Office has been authorised to enforce the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance. Where the source of seepage is identified, the person concerned will be issued with a Nuisance Notice requiring the abatement of nuisance within a specified period of time, failing which the person will be subject to prosecution. Upon conviction, the person concerned is liable to a maximum fine of HK$10,000 and a daily fine of HK$200. The Joint Office may also apply to the Court for a Nuisance Order requiring the person concerned to abate the nuisance. Failure to comply with the order will result in prosecution. Upon conviction, the penalty will be a maximum fine of HK$25,000 and a daily fine of HK$450.
   
8. How can the Joint Office obtain access into a residential flat to carry out the investigation?
   
 
When handling a seepage complaint, the cooperation of all parties concerned is essential to allow the investigation officer access for testing and collecting evidence inside both the complainant's flat as well as the other flat suspected to be causing seepage in order to prove the seepage source. Depending on the circumstances, it may be necessary to conduct several tests and collect different samples for examination. If the owner/occupant concerned refuses to co-operate, the investigation process may be extended as the Joint Office will have to apply to the Court for a warrant to enter the flat in question.
   
9. How to request for an investigation report on water seepage from the Joint Office?
   
 
Initially approach the case officer (FEHD or BD) of the respective Joint Office for details of the report required.
   
10. How do the owners/occupiers enquire and engage building professionals or consultant firms in carrying out water seepage investigation and identifying the seepage source(s) so as to resolve the water seepage problem?
   
 
Water seepage is usually caused by defective building fabric or installations and the lack of proper building maintenance. As it is the responsibility of the owners / occupiers to maintain their buildings and to ensure environmental hygiene, their co-operation in resolving water seepage problems is essential. While the Joint Office would assist in identifying the source of seepage, the owners /occupiers can cooperate to engage building professionals or consultant firms for carrying out the investigation, identifying the source of seepage, and conducting necessary repair works to resolve the water seepage problems. The building related institutes and organizations provide experienced building professionals / consultant firms to the general public for delivering related services. Among the building related institutes, The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (HKIS) proactively informs that their experienced professional members / building surveying consultant firms are willing to provide such related services. The following hyperlinks are provided by The HKIS.
   
 
1. List of Consultancy Firms provide Advice on Water Seepage Problem
2. List of Experts on Water Seepage Investigation
   
  Disclaimer:
  Owners are responsible for making their own assessment of all information in the Lists. The HKIS should be contacted should there be any queries on any matters regarding the Lists. The Lists are complied, maintained and provided by the HKIS. The Government of the HKSAR plays no part in the compilation of the Lists and shall not be responsible for any inaccuracies in the Lists nor any errors/incomplete information arising from the hyperlinks nor any loss or damage whatsoever arising out of or in connection with any information or the performance of the service providers in the Lists. The service providers in the Lists should not be regarded as endorsed or recommended by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department or the Government of the HKSAR nor imply that the Government of the HKSAR promotes their expertise or their business.
   
Water Dripping
   
1. What are the common causes of water dripping?
   
  1. air conditioners
  2. leakage of water supply pipes
  3. leakage of drainage pipes
  4. watering plant
  5. hanging clothes
   
2. When will the Nuisance Notice be issued?
   
  Once nuisance is established and author of nuisance confirmed, Nuisance Notice will be served to responsible party(ies).
Last revision date:

渗水

  1. 甚么是渗水的常见原因?

    常见渗水原因 :

    1. 楼上、毗邻或本身单位的排水管漏水
    2. 楼上、毗邻或本身单位的供水管漏水
    3. 楼板防水层或浴缸封边残损
    4. 污水或雨水经由天台∕外墙渗入
  2. 如何侦测居住单位内的渗水原因?

    渗水大都是由损毁的供水管、卫生设备或排水渠管造成,通常可用简单的修葺工程纠正。业主应直接聘请建筑技术人员或持牌水喉匠,鉴定渗水原因,迅速加以修理。请参考联合办事处编印的「家居渗水简易测试」「家居渗水简易测试」小册子档案小册子内的检测方法。

  3. 如何处理渗水纠纷?

    业主有责任维修及管理其楼宇,包括解决渗水问题。如果怀疑渗水情况是源自楼上或毗邻的单位,应尽快与有关住户商讨,要求协助检验找出渗水原因及进行维修工程。此外,亦可向大厦管理公司或业主立案法团求助。必要时聘请建筑和法律顾问,根据大厦公契内容要求负责人士停止渗水,甚至提出索偿。

  4. 政府部门可提供什么帮助?

    假如无法与邻居协商解决渗水问题,你可致电「1823」求助。联合办事处会就渗水投诉作出初步调查;若渗水构成卫生妨扰,联合办事处便会根据《公众卫生及市政条例》的相关条文处理。若渗水是轻微或间歇性,而调查未能找出源头,政府的介入行动便会终止。

  5. 新近成立的联合办事处职责是甚么?

    食物环境卫生署和屋宇署成立的联合办事处,会安排『一站式』的服务,处理楼宇渗水投诉;联合办事处的职责是执行《公众卫生及市政条例》的相关条文,减除渗水妨扰。如有需要,亦会转介个案予屋宇署或水务署,作出相应行动。例如屋宇署会按《建筑物条例》,针对楼宇及排水渠失修问题;而水务署则按《水务设施条例》,制止浪费食水的情况。

  6. 联合办事处需要多少时间调查渗水原因?

    根据工作程序,联合办事处会在收到投诉后的6个工作天内联络投诉人。职员会先作现视察,然后进入被投诉的单位,有系统地进行非破坏式测试,以确定渗水源头。倘若得到有关业主/住户的合作,调查通常可于90个工作天内完成,以及将结果通知投诉人。若未能于90个工作天内完成调查,联合办事处会书面告知投诉人调查进展。

  7. 联合办事处是否有法定权力制止渗水?

    联合办事处职员获授权执行《公众卫生及市政条例》的相关条文,当证实渗水源头后,可发出「妨扰事故通知」予有关人士,规定在通知指明的期限内减除妨扰,否则有关人士会被检控;一经定罪,最高可被罚款港币10,000元,另加每日罚款港币200元。当局亦可向法庭申请「妨扰事故命令」,命令有关人士减除妨扰。如有关人士没有遵照法庭命令,会被检控;一经定罪,最高可被罚款港币25,000元,另加每日罚款港币450元。

  8. 联合办事处怎样进入住用单位调查?

    处理渗水投诉时,调查人员需要相关人士合作,进入投诉人单位及怀疑引致渗水的单位进行测试及收集证据,以确定渗水原因。视乎渗水情况,可能需要作出多次测试及收集样本进行化验。对拒绝合作的业主/住户,联合办事处会向法庭申请手令进入有关单位调查,以致整个调查所需的时间可能延长。

  9. 如何向联办处索取渗水调查报告?

    先联络联办处的个案负责人员(食环署或屋宇署)以了解所需的报告详情。

  10. 业主和住户如何查询及委聘建筑专业人士/顾问公司进行调查渗水和寻找渗水源头,以解决渗水滋扰?

    楼宇渗水一般是由于楼宇和设施破损及缺乏维修所致,而维修保养楼宇及保持环境卫生是业主及住户的责任。要彻底解决渗水问题,是需要有关业主/住户的合作。除了透过联办处的协助寻找渗水源头,有关业主和住户可以透过互相合作,委聘专业人士/顾问公司提供相关服务,包括渗水调查及寻找渗水源头丶并进行所需的维修,以解决渗水滋扰。坊间与建筑相关的专业学会或机构,可向市民大众提供有经验的专业人士/顾问公司提供相关的服务。在这些专业学会当中,香港测量师学会积极表示一些有经验的会员/顾问公司乐意提供相关服务,以下的网站由香港测量师学会提供:

    1. 提供专业意见解决渗水问题的顾问公司名单
    2. 专家(勘测渗水)名单

    免责声明
    业主须负责自行评估名单所载的一切资料;如对有关名单相关事宜有疑问,应联络香港测量师学会。有关名单是由香港测量师学会所编制、备存和提供。香港特区政府没有参与编制有关名单,亦不会对有关名单的不准确之处,或超连结产生的错误或不完整资料,或因有关名单所载的服务提供者的资料或其表现而引致或所涉及的损失或损害负责。有关服务提供者的名单,不应视为已获食物环境卫生署或香港特区政府认许或推荐,亦不应视为香港特区政府意味推广其专门知识或其商业服务。

  11. 联合办事处怎样处理雨水渗漏?

    由天雨经大厦天台、平台、露台、外墙或窗户所引致的渗漏,以及供水喉管破损引致渗水,在正常情况下,皆不会构成公众卫生的滋扰问题,联合办事处不会引用《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)采取执法行动。联合办事处按既定程序需停止跟进个案。尽管如此,联合办事处会劝喻大厦业主立案法团安排检查其大厦天台或外墙的状况及进行所需的修葺工程。如有需要,联合办事处亦会把个案转介屋宇署以处理楼宇安全的问题。

滴水

  1. 常见对公众人士造成滋扰的滴水原因
    1. 冷气机
    2. 供水管漏水
    3. 排水管漏水
    4. 淋花
    5. 晾晒衣服
  2. 如何处理?

    当接获滴水投诉个案后,食环署人员会进行实地调查,以确认投诉是否成立。若滴水情况对公众人士造成滋扰,查找滴水源头及采取进一步跟进行动。若有关个案涉及本署以外的工作范畴,会转介予相关部门跟进 (例如:破损供水喉管、破损外露/外墙排水管)。

  3. 在甚么情况下会发出妨扰事故通知书?

    倘若证明妨扰事故属实,并确定造成妨扰人士的身分,便会把「妨扰事故通知」送交有关负责人。