Pest Control
Pest Control>Pesticides
Pesticides

Types of Pesticides

Pesticides are natural or synthetic compounds that are poisonous and can kill pests including insects and rodents. Before the Second World War, pesticides were mainly made up of minerals or plants. They were highly toxic to mammals and had long-term residual effects, easily causing environmental pollution. Since the end of the Second World War, more effective pesticides including organochlorines, organophosphates, carbamates and synthetic-pyrethroids have been gradually developed.

Classification of Pesticides

There are various ways by which pesticides are classified. Pesticides can be classified according to four distinctive functions, namely, stomach poisoning, contact poisoning, fumigation or systemic action.

  • Stomach poisoning - thepesticide enters the body of pests via their mouthpart and digestive system and causes death by poisoning. Pesticides that function in this way are known as stomach poison.
  • Contact poisoning - the pesticide enters the body of pests via their epidermis upon contact and causes death by poisoning. Pesticides that function in this way are known as contact poison.
  • Fumigation - the pesticide in gas form enters the body of pests via their respiration system and causes death by poisoning.
  • Systemic action - pesticides consumed by a host organism will stay in its body fluids. Pests feeding on the body fluids of the host organism will then be killed by poisoning.

Pesticides can be classified by their chemical nature:

1. Organochlorine Pesticides They are the synthetic organic pesticides that are earliest discovered and used. Their characteristics are broad-spectrum, long residual effect and relatively low toxicity. However, due to their stable chemical nature, they are hard to break down in the natural environment. Prolonged use in large quantities will easily lead to environmental pollution and accumulation in mammals, resulting in cumulative poisoning or damage. Organochlorine pesticides are therefore banned under general circumstances and gradually replaced by other pesticides.

2. Organophosphate Pesticides Organophosphate pesticides are characterised by their multiple functions and the capacity of controlling a broad spectrum of pests. They are nerve poisons that can be used not only as stomach poison but also as contact poison and fumigant. These pesticides are also biodegradable, cause minimum environmental pollution and slow pest resistance. Temephos and F enitrothion are examples of organophosphate pesticides.

3. Carbamates Carbamate pesticides work on the same principle as organophosphate pesticides by affecting the transmission of nerve signals resulting in the death of the pest by poisoning. They can be used as stomach and contact poisons as well as fumigant. Moreover, as their molecular structures are largely similar to that of natural organic substances, they can be degraded easily in a natural manner with minimum environmental pollution. Propoxur is an example of carbamate pesticides.

4. Synthetic-pyrethroid Pesticides Synthetic-pyrethroid pesticides are a pesticide synthesized by imitating the structure of natural pyrethrins. They are comparatively more stable with longer residual effects than natural pyrethrins. Synthetic-pyrethroid pesticides are highly toxic to insects but of only slight toxicity to mammals. A llethrin and Permethrin are examples of synthetic-pyrethroid pesticides.

5. Microbial Insecticides Microbial insecticides control pests by means of pathogenic micro-organisms including bacteria, fungus and viruses. Bacillus thuringiensis israelensis (B.t.i.) is an example of microbial insecticides.

6. Insect Growth Regulators Insect growth regulators are compounds developed by copying insect juvenile hormone. The main functions are to interfere with the growth and hatching of larvae into adults, and to prevent the formation of exoskeleton so as to prohibit the growth of the insect. As its ability to live as a living organism is curtailed, the insect may die eventually as well as the whole insect population. Methoprene is an example of insect growth regulators.

Application of Pesticides

When using pesticides, one should choose the suitable type and formulation according to the target pest and the purpose. The chosen pesticide should then be applied by suitable methods. Application methods can be generally classified as follows:

1. Spraying

There are broadly two kinds of spraying: space spraying and residual spraying. Liquid pesticides are released from various types of sprayers, forming small droplets that float in the air or settle on object surfaces with which the passing insects will come into contact. Space spraying is to apply knockdown pesticide over the space where there are pest activities. It is mainly used to combat flying insects like mosquitoes, midges, flies and wasps. Residual spraying is to apply residual pesticide over the object surfaces on which there are pest activities. It is mainly used to combat crawling insects or those staying on an object surface for a long period of time, e.g. cockroaches, fleas, ticks and ants.

Sprayers

Sprayers are the most commonly used pest control equipment. They are light, convenient and come in various types, suitable for indoor and outdoor small scale / local control operations to eradicate pests of public health importance, e.g. mosquitoes, flies and cockroaches. Sprayers available on the market include manual sprayers and compression sprayers.

(I) Hand Pump

A handpump operates on a simple piston principle whereby the pesticide is drawn out from the solution cylinder. The holding capacity of the solution cylinder is usually about 0.5 to 1.0 litre. When the piston is pulled backward, the pesticide will be drawn out from the cylinder. When the piston is pushed forward, the pesticide will be released from the nozzle. Manual sprayers are usually used in small scale knockdown operations.

(II) Compression Sprayers

A compressionsprayer is composed primarily of three parts, including the solution tank , the pressurised device (piston) and the nozzle system (control / tube / resonator / nozzle). Air inside the solution tanks is compressed and pressurized by using the piston. When the trigger on / off (valve) is released, the liquid pesticide is pushed into the tube by high pressure and transferred to the nozzle system where it will be broken up into droplets, each with a volume diameter of about 100 to 400 microns.

The length of the application wand of the compression sprayer can be adjusted according to need. Its nozzle can also be replaced or adjusted to suit various spraying purposes -

  • Fan nozzle : offering the widest spraying angle, s uitable for residual spraying.
  • Cone nozzle : suitable for general sp ace spraying, such as the elimination of flies.
  • Jet : the cone nozzle can be adjust to spray jet, allowing the liquid pesticide to reach its target (such as a wasp nest high up) at a far distance.

(III) Thermal Foggers

A thermal fogger is composed primarily of two parts including the pulse-jet engine and the formulation system. The pulse-jet engine generates a high temperature air stream, evaporating the formulation which will then be released through the resonator. When come into contact with cold air, the vapour will immediately condensed into small droplets. With a diameter of less than 50 microns, these droplets are highly effective in penetration, diffusion and adhesion, suitable for outdoor pest control work covering a large area. The fog produced by a thermal fogger is highly visible, facilitating the monitoring of aerosol diffusion and penetration.

(IV) Cold Foggers

A cold fogger is composed primarily of three parts including the driver (engine and air compressor), the solution tank and the nozzle system. Activated by the two-stroke petrol engine, the centrifugal fan of the fogger generates a high speed air stream channelling the fogging solution into the nozzle system via a delivery tube. The pesticide solution will then be broken up into droplets with a diameter of about 50 to 100 microns by the centrifugal force of a high-spin atomiser. The cold fogger is a high performance spraying machine with wide coverage. With a light breeze, the insecticide mist can cover 70 to 100 metres. The cold fogger is suitable for outdoor pest control work involving a large area, and can be fitted with different nozzle orifices to adjust the speed of fogging and droplet size.

(V) Ultra Low Volume (ULV) Sprayers

The structure and operating principle of ULV sprayers are the same as those of cold foggers. The size of droplets generated by an ULV sprayer may vary from several cubic microns (the tiniest) to less than a hundred cubic microns (the largest). Droplets of this size have strong penetration force and are most effective in controlling pests such as mosquitoes. In comparison with other cold foggers, ULV sprayers are more effective as they can deliver the correct-sized droplets with high uniformity.

Environmental conditions such as temperature, wind direction and wind speed should be noted when spraying is conducted, in particular during fogging applications. The size of droplets also has an important bearing on the effectiveness of spraying operations. Droplets with a big diameter will not be able to remain suspended in the air, and their contact with insects in flight will be reduced. Droplets with a small diameter will be susceptible to the turbulence created by insects in flight or other air currents. This will also reduce their contact with insects. In outdoor applications, most droplets will be carried away by the rising air current and dissipate in the atmosphere. The droplet size also affects the ability to penetrate into vegetation and other objects.

2. Dusting

A duster is used to spray or scatter powder pesticides in areas needed to be treated. The body of pests will be stained with the powder as they pass through it. Powder pesticides are especially suitable for treating those areas / objects that cannot be wetted, such as carpet surface and books. By using the right nozzle, powder pesticides can be sprayed into the cracks and crevices or holes. Attention should be paid to the weather and situation on the ground during the application. Dusting should not be conducted outdoors under windy conditions. Dustable powder should not be applied on rainy days nor can it be applied in moist or damp areas. Dusting suitable for controlling fleas, cockroaches, scolopendra and the larvae of certain insects .

3. Fumigation

Gas pesticides are used in fumigation. Its advantage lies in the small molecules which have a strong penetration force than any other pesticides. It is especially suitable for treating areas with many cracks and crevices where pests like to shelter. Another advantage of fumigation is the easy dispersion of gas, which will not leave any residue on the surface of treated objects. However, due to its strong penetration force, preparation must be thorough before fumigation is conducted, and the area to be treated must be completely enclosed to avoid leakage of pesticide. There is also a need to ensure that the pesticide is dispersed completely after application before the treated area is unsealed. Also, certain fumigant gas pesticides are highly toxic and are not suitable for use in places where there are human and animal activities.

4. Baiting

In general, no special equipment is required for baiting. Only a simple device, such as a rodent bait box or cockroach bait box, is needed to put in the baits. It is most important to choose a suitable location for placing the baits. The baits should be placed :

1. near to active runways / activity areas of pests so that the baits can be easily discovered;

2. in areas not easily accessible to humans and non-target organisms;

3. far away from food, utensils and food processing area.

You may also visit Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department website
http://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pesticide.html
for more details about pesticides.

 

Last revision date:

防治蟲鼠
防治蟲鼠>簡介
除害劑

除害劑的類型

除害劑是一種對包括昆蟲及鼠類動物等有害生物具有毒殺作用的天然或人工合成有毒化合物。二次大戰以前的除害劑,主要是由礦物或植物等組成,對哺乳類動物含有高毒性,且有長殘留性,易對環境造成污染。二次大戰後至今,先後研發了有機氯、有機磷、氨基甲酸鹽及合成除蟲菊酯等比較高效的除害劑。

除害劑的分類

除害劑可按不同的基礎分類。按其作用方式可分為胃毒、觸殺、熏殺及內吸四種。

  • 胃毒作用是藥劑通過有害生物的口部和消化系統進入蟲體使有害生物中毒死亡。具有這種作用的藥劑稱為胃毒劑。
  • 觸殺作用是有害生物接觸到藥劑時,藥物通過有害生物的表皮進入體內使其中毒死亡。具有觸殺作用的藥劑稱為觸殺劑。
  • 熏殺作用是指除害劑呈氣態的形式經有害生物的呼吸系統進入體內而引致其中毒死亡。
  • 內吸作用是藥物被宿主吸收後,分佈在其體液內,害蟲通過吸食宿主的體液而中毒死亡。

按其化學性質則可分為:

1. 有機氯除害劑最早發現和應用的一類人工合成有機除害劑。此類除害劑的特點是殺蟲譜廣,殘留期長,毒性較低。但由於化學性質穩定,在自然環境難以分解,長期大量使用,易污染環境,並可在哺乳類動物體內積聚,引起慢性中毒或損害,所以有機氯除害劑於一般情況下已被禁用,並逐漸被其他除害劑所替代

2. 有機磷除害劑其特點有: 能控制大部分的害蟲,作用方式多樣化。有機磷除害劑屬於神經毒劑,不僅有胃毒作用,還有觸殺及熏殺作用;可被生物分解,對環境污染少和抗藥性發展較慢。例子:雙硫磷、殺螟硫磷等。

3. 氨基甲酸鹽氨基甲酸鹽除害劑與有機磷的原理一樣,影響害蟲神經訊息傳遞,使害蟲中毒死亡。有胃毒、觸殺及熏殺作用。此外,其分子結構接近天然有機物,易被自然分解,對環境污染少。例子:殘殺威。

4. 合成除蟲菊酯除害劑合成除蟲菊酯除害劑是模擬天然除蟲菊酯的結構而合成的一類除害劑,但比天然除蟲菊酯穩定及擁有較長的殘留作用;對昆蟲毒性高,但對哺乳類動物的毒性很低。例子:丙烯菊酯、氯菊酯。

5. 微生物殺蟲劑微生物除害劑是指利用病原微生物來防治害蟲。這類病原微生物包括細菌、真菌和病毒等。例子 : 蘇雲金桿菌,最終導致害蟲死亡。

6. 昆蟲生長調節劑昆蟲生長調節劑是模仿昆蟲賀爾蒙的人工合成物,主要作用為干擾成蟲前的發育、蛻變和阻礙外殼的形成,使昆蟲的發育停滯不前、個體生活能力降低、死亡,進而使種群滅絕。例子 :烯蟲酯。

除害劑的施放

使用除害劑時,應就目標物及目的而選擇適合的除害劑種類及劑型,再就所選的除害劑配以適當的施放方法。施放方法可大致分為以下幾種 :

1. 噴灑 噴灑可分為空間噴灑和殘留噴灑兩大類。液態除害劑經由各類噴灑器噴出,形成細小微粒飄浮於空氣中或覆蓋在物體的表面上,讓經過的昆蟲接觸。空間噴灑是把即殺性除害劑施放於害蟲的活動空間,主要針對飛行的昆蟲如蚊、蠓、蠅及蜂等。殘留噴灑是把具殘留效力的除害劑施放於害蟲活動的物體表面上,主要針對爬行或於物體表面上作長時間停留的昆蟲如蟑螂、跳蚤、蜱及蟻等。

噴霧器 最常用的防治設備,輕便且種類繁多,適用於室內 ∕ 室外環境的小型 ∕ 局部防治,殺滅蚊、蒼蠅、蟑螂等公共衞生害蟲。市面上可供選擇的噴霧器有手動噴霧器和壓縮噴灑器等。

(I) 手動噴霧器

手動噴霧器是利用簡單的活塞原理將罐內的除害劑抽出,藥罐一般約 0.5 - 1.0 升。當活塞向後時除害劑從罐內被抽出;當活塞向前時藥便經由噴嘴噴出。手動噴霧器一般使用於小規模的即殺用途防治。

(II) 壓縮噴灑器

壓縮噴灑器 主要由液體缸、加壓裝置(氣泵)和噴灑系統(開關 ∕ 導管 ∕ 噴管 ∕ 噴嘴)三部分組成。利用打氣泵將空氣打入藥桶內,使桶內氣體壓縮並增壓,當打開噴灑開關(氣閥)時,藥液便會因高壓迫進導管,然後輸送至噴灑系統把藥液轉成體積約 100-400 微米直徑的霧點。

壓縮噴灑器可根據需要更改噴杆長度,以及更換或調整噴嘴以作多種噴灑用途:

  • 扇形噴頭:噴灑角度最廣,適用作殘留噴灑。
  • 錐形噴頭適用於一般空間噴灑工作如滅蠅。
  • 水柱型噴頭 錐形噴頭可調整成水柱型噴頭,將藥液射到遠距離目標,如高處的黃蜂巢。

(III) 熱能噴霧器

熱能噴霧器主要由脈衝式引擎和藥劑系統兩大部分組成。噴霧器透過脈衝式引擎啟動後產生的高溫氣流,將藥劑蒸發霧化,再經由噴管將煙霧噴出。藥霧接觸外界冷空氣時即凝成細小的霧點。霧點體積較細小(小於 50 微米直徑),具有良好的穿透性、擴散性及附着性,適用於大範圍的室外滅蟲工作。噴霧器所釋放的霧團容易觀察,有利於監察霧點的散佈及滲透情況。

(IV) 冷霧處理器

冷霧處理器主要由驅動裝置(引擎、風機)、藥箱及噴灑系統三部分組成。處理器由二衝程汽油引擎帶動離心式風機,風扇產生的高速氣流會將藥液經由導管輸送至噴灑系統,再經過高速旋轉的霧化器,透過離心力將藥液碎裂成直徑約 50 - 100 微米的霧點。處理器功效高,噴幅廣。霧帶在微風下可覆蓋 70 - 100 米,適用於大範圍的室外滅蟲工作。處理器可以使用不同的噴孔控制噴灑的速度和霧點的大小。

(V) 超微量噴灑器

超微量噴灑器 的結構和操作原理與冷霧處理器相同。由超低微量噴霧器所產生的霧點體積最小為幾立方微米,最大不超過一百立方微米。這類大小的霧點穿透力強,最能有效控制蚊等害蟲。與其他冷霧噴霧器比較,超低微量噴灑法較為有效,因為超低微量噴霧器可以產生大小適中且非常均勻的霧點。

在進行噴灑時,特別是霧化處理時,要注意氣溫、風向、風速等環境因素。霧點體積也對噴灑的成效有重要的影響,如霧點直徑太大,霧點不能懸浮於空氣中而減少與飛行昆蟲的接觸;但若霧點直徑太小,霧點容易受昆蟲飛行時所產生的亂流或其他氣流所影響,亦會減低除害劑與害蟲接觸的機會。於室外施藥時,大部分的霧點會隨着上升氣流被帶走,散失於大氣中;而霧點的大小也影響霧點滲透叢林或其他物件的能力。

2. 噴粉 ∕ 撒粉

粉劑可用噴粉器噴或撒到要處理的地方,待害蟲經過時沾於身體上。粉劑特別適合處理一些不能浸濕的地方和物件如地毯表面和書籍等。使用適當的噴嘴可以將粉劑噴入縫隙或洞穴中。施粉時須留意天氣及現場環境,大風時不適宜在戶外噴粉 ∕ 撒粉。不可在下雨天施放塵粉,亦不可於濕潤有水的地方施放。噴粉 ∕ 撒粉適用於處理蚤、蟑螂、蜈蚣及一些昆蟲的幼蟲。

3. 蒸熏 蒸熏法使用氣體除害劑,好處是因為分子細小,滲透能力比任何除害劑都要高,特別適合處理一些多縫隙的地方及喜歡躲藏於縫隙深處的害蟲。蒸熏法的另一個優點是氣體容易吹散,不會於處理過的物件表面留下殘餘物。但因為穿透力能強,進行蒸熏前需有充分準備,把要處理的地方完全密封以防止除害劑滲漏。處理後亦須確保除害劑完全散去,才能將處理地點解封。此外,部分 蒸熏劑毒性非常強,並不適合於有人畜活動的地方使用。

4. 放餌 施放藥餌一般無需使用特別設備,或只需使用簡單器具盛載,例 如鼠餌箱及蟑螂餌箱。施放藥餌最重要是選擇適當的地點。投放藥餌的地點必須:

1. 接近有害生物活動的路徑∕地方使其容易被有害生物發現;

2. 於人及非目標生物不容易接觸到的地方;

3. 遠離食物、食具及處理食物的地方。

你亦可以瀏覽以下漁農自然護理署網頁
http://www.afcd.gov.hk/tc_chi/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pesticide.html
以獲取更多有關除害劑資訊。

 

最近修訂日期: