Pleasant Environment
Pamphlet Library>Guidelines on the filtration and disinfection facilities for fish tank water

GUIDELINES ON THE FILTRATION

AND DISINFECTION FACILITIES FOR FISH TANK WATER


General

(1) The filtration / disinfection system shall be a closed loop system capable of providing continuous filtration and disinfection action.  The system used should be operated round the clock.

(2) Seawater from doubtful sources should not be used for keeping live seafood. With effect from 1 August 2010, the law forbids any person to extract, supply, deliver or use seawater from specified prohibited areas for keeping live fish or shell fish for human consumption in the course of food business. Prohibited areas for extracting seawater include Victoria Harbour, the shoreline of Hong Kong Island (including Ap Lei Chau), the shoreline of New Territories West (including Tsing Yi) and the 14 typhoon shelters specified in the Merchant Shipping (Local Vessels) (Typhoon Shelters) Regulation.

(3) The use of synthetic seawater is desirable. If natural seawater is used, new batch of water should preferably be stored in an empty tank fitted with an effective filtration and disinfection system.  The system should be run for at least one to two hours before being used for keeping live seafood.  Abstraction of seawater for keeping live seafood should be avoided during and after inclement weather.

(4) Live fish and shellfish should be kept separately in different tanks and at a stock density not causing overcrowding.  It is preferable to use separate sets of filtration and disinfection systems for tanks used for keeping live fish, crustaceans and shellfish.  Live bivalve mollusks should be washed free of mud with clean water before being kept in the storage tank.

(5) The filtration and disinfection facilities for fish tank water should be properly installed and regularly maintained by a company/supplier specializing in water treatment for live seafood. At present, UV radiation is the most common method used for disinfection of fish tank water. Other methods used are ozone, copper-silver ionization and photocatalytic oxidation technology with the use of UV radiation and titanium dioxide.

(6) Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (the Department) reviews the disinfection methods from time to time. An updated list of the accepted methods is kept at the district offices of the Department for public reference. A copy of the guidance note specific for each of the methods can be obtained at those offices upon request. If an operator intends to use a method other than those on the list, he/she should apply to the Department with full particulars of the proposed system. Before it is accepted, the proposed system should not be installed for disinfection of the water of the fish tanks used for keeping live seafood intended for human consumption.

(7) The operators should assign dedicated staff to take care of the cleansing and maintenance of the whole system.

(8) All records using the format as per attached to register the maintenance details, including the checking and cleansing work carried out to the systems, replacement and addition of the filter medium, replacement of the UV-light bulbs/tubes, etc. should be completed and certified by the dedicated staff/contractor. The records should be kept on the premises for at least one year. They should be readily available for inspection and for reproduction should the Health Inspector demand for them at all times.

(9) All the internal surfaces of the fish tanks should be scrubbed and thoroughly cleansed regularly, preferably at least once a week. Sand, stones and other objects laid on the fish tanks for decoration purposes should also be cleansed in the like manner. After scrubbing and cleansing, all water in the fish tanks should be drained off. The fish tanks including the sand and stones inside should be rinsed clean before refilling of the wholesome seawater.

(10) All pipes for the supply of water and air to fish tanks should be thoroughly cleansed and rinsed with clean water during cleansing of fish tanks each time. Proper and thorough cleansing of the whole set-up at regular intervals are important in upkeeping the quality of tank water.

(11) The fish tank area should be clean, well ventilated and free from any building defect.

(12) Fish net and other articles in contact with the fish tank water should always be kept clean. If not in use, the fish net should be stored in a clean bucket specially for the purpose. After business hours, fish net and the buckets should be cleansed thoroughly and rinsed with clean water.

(13) When handling fish tanks, clean rubber gloves should be worn.

(14) Fish tanks and other connected articles left unused for a period of time should be cleansed thoroughly before they are used again.

(15) Periodic changing of tank water is an effective means to remove harmful substances produced by the stock after a period of time. Periodic changing of water will also prevent turbid water from decreasing the efficacy of disinfection systems.

Synthetic Seawater

(16) The marine salts used for the preparation of synthetic seawater should be sourced from reliable suppliers.

(17) Free residual chlorine level in tap water decreases with time.  Addition of salt and aerating the water overnight effectively reduce residual chlorine to a very low level.

(18) The instructions for the use of marine salts such as the proportion of salt and water to be used are usually printed on the packages and should be followed.

Filtration System

(19) The filter materials should be cleansed at least once a week and replenished at least once a month.

(20) If spongy filter is used, more regular cleansing and replenishment of the filter materials should be carried out. In addition, more regular cleansing and replenishment of filter materials should be conducted if the water quality is poor and/or fish stock density is high.

(21) If sand filters are used, they must be cleansed periodically by backwash. Backwash should be carried out until the effluent is clear. After a long running time, the sand should be replenished.

(22) If activated carbon filter is used, it should be regularly maintained.

(23) If circumstances permit, use of layered multi-sand filter comprising both coarse sand and fine sand as filter materials fitted with automatic backwash self-cleansing device is desirable.

(24) The filtration system should be installed upstream of the disinfection system and not vice versa such that it can remove suspended solids or particulate matters in the fish tank water which may affect the efficacy of the disinfection system.

Guidance Note for UV Radiation Disinfection System

(1) The UV lamp used should be operating at the wavelength of UVC range (i.e. 280-100 nanometer) with peak effect at 254 nanometer. The use of a double barrel UV lamp tube and higher lamp intensity is preferred.

(2) The UV lamp should be sealed completely to avoid human exposure to the UV radiation.

(3) As the output of UV lamp declines over time, the UV lamp should be replaced preferably at 6 to 9 months interval, before its natural burnt out time.

(4) The quartz sleeve of the UV lamp should be cleansed at least monthly by trained personnel of the operator or the system supplier.

(5) The system should be regularly maintained by trained personnel of the operator or the UV lamp supplier preferably at least once every 6 months.

(6) Since the efficacy of the disinfection system is also affected by water circulation time, the water in the system should recycle at least two times per hour, i.e. water passes through the filtration and disinfection system once every 30 minutes, in order to effectively reduce the bacterial load in fish tank.

For example, for a 600-litre fish tank, the water flow rate through the filtration and disinfection system should be 20 litres/min in order to achieve an overall cycling time of 30 minutes for the whole system.

(7)The operator should work with the supplier to ensure the system in place meet the design specifications aiming to achieve optimal disinfection efficacy.

Guidance Note for Ozone System

(1) For optimal disinfection efficacy, tailor-made systems by contractors are necessary. The system should be pilot-tested and calibrated prior to installation to ensure that they are able to produce optimal ozone concentration for disinfection.

(2) Regular maintenance of the system equipment should be carried out by trained personnel or the system supplier preferably at quarterly intervals. The ozone source must be switched off during the cleansing and maintenance operations.

(3) Ambient ozone levels should be monitored and equipment shutdown and alarm device should be incorporated into the system and operating automatically when levels exceed 0.1 ppm. If there are practical difficulties for installation of the off-gas destructor, the ozone generator and the contact tank should be installed in a well ventilated area fitted with ozone leakage detector with automatic alarm and equipment shutdown device. Users should take note of the potential hazard of improperly operated ozone system.

(4) If UV radiation is used to generate ozone, the UV lamp should be regularly replaced preferably at 6 to 9 months interval, but well before its natural burnt out time.

(5) For optimal disinfection efficacy, human safety and health of the fish, the system should be installed with an ozone contact tank where ozonation is done inside the tank with sufficient contact time. The ozone contact tank should be well covered. Continuous introduction of ozone directly to the fish tank is not recommended as the direct contact of ozone can be harmful to fish and the release of ozone off-gas can be hazardous to humans in the vicinity.  Direct introduction of ozone into the tank containing the filtration facilities should also be avoided as it would adversely affect the filtration and disinfection efficacy.

(6) The operators should require the supplier to ensure that the system in place meet the design specification aiming to achieve optimal disinfection efficacy.

Guidance Note for Copper-silver Ionization Disinfection System

(1) The operators should require the suppliers to ensure that the system in place meets the design specifications aiming to achieve optimal disinfection efficacy. Measurement of residual ions levels in the fish tank water should be carried out preferably at bi-weekly interval.

(2) The operators should consult the supplier of the system on the dosage of copper / silver ions to be used to ensure its effectiveness while not producing any undesirable side effects to the live seafood.

(3) The operators should monitor the pH value of the fish tank water preferably on daily basis to ensure that the pH is within the range of 7.2 to 7.8 for optimal disinfection.

(4) The electrodes of the ionizer should preferably be replaced at yearly interval.

(5) Regular maintenance of the system should be carried out by trained personnel or the system supplier preferably at quarterly interval.

Guidance Note for Disinfection System employing Photocatalytic Oxidation Technology with the use of UV Radiation and Titanium Dioxide

(1) The UV lamp used should be operating at the wavelength that is effective to trigger the photocatalytic oxidation reaction.

(2) The UV lamp should be sealed completely to avoid human exposure to the UV radiation.

(3) As the output of UV lamp declines over time, the UV lamp should be replaced preferably at 6 to 9 months interval, before its natural burnt out time.

(4) The quartz sleeve of the UV lamp should be cleansed at least monthly by trained personnel of the operator or the system supplier.

(5) The photocatalyst should be regenerated or replaced by the system supplier preferably at least once yearly.

(6) The system should be maintained by trained personnel of the operator or the system supplier preferably at quarterly intervals.

(7) The operator should require the supplier to ensure the system in place meet the design specifications aiming to achieve optimal disinfection efficacy.

Maintenance Record on Filtration and Disinfection Facilities for Water
for Keeping Live Marine Fish and/or Shellfish ( PDF / 14 KB )

 

Last review date:

環境衞生
環境衞生單張庫>魚缸水過濾和消毒設施指引
魚缸水過濾和消毒設施指引


一般事項

(1)    過濾∕消毒系統須為封閉式循環系統,才能不斷發揮過濾和消毒作用。所採用的系統應24小時運作。

(2)    不應從有問題的源頭,抽取海水作飼養活海鮮之用。由2010年8月1日開始,法例禁止任何人抽取、供應、交付或使用指明禁區內的海水以在食物業的運作中飼養擬供人食用的活魚或介貝類水產動物。禁止抽取海水的禁區範圍包括:維多利亞港、香港島(包括鴨脷洲)沿岸線、新界西(包括青衣)沿岸線及《商船(本地船隻)(避風塘)規例》中所指明的14個避風塘。

(3)    宜用人造海水。若使用天然海水,每批新到的海水宜貯存於設有有效的過濾和消毒系統的空魚缸內,並且在飼養活海鮮前,讓系統開動至少12小時。同時應避免在惡劣天氣期間或其後抽取海水作飼養活海鮮之用。

(4)    應把活魚及介貝類水產動物分開放置在不同的魚缸內飼養,而在每個魚缸所飼養的活魚或介貝類水產數目不宜太多,以免過分擁擠。飼養活魚、甲殼類及介貝類水產的魚缸,宜使用不同的過濾和消毒系統。應用清水徹底洗淨及除去活生雙殼軟體動物的泥,才放入魚缸。

(5)    應由一家專門向海鮮業提供水質處理服務的公司∕供應商,妥善安裝魚缸水的過濾和消毒設施,並由該公司∕供應商定期維修保養。現時最常用的魚缸水消毒方法是紫外線輻射,其他方法包括臭氧消毒法、銅∕銀電離化法,以及使用紫外線輻射及二氧化鈦的光催化技術。

(6)    食物環境衞生署(食環署)會經常檢討魚缸水的消毒方法,並會把一份被接納的魚缸水消毒方法的最新資料存放在食環署各分區辦事處,供公眾參考。該等辦事處也備有適用個別被接納消毒方法的指引,可供公眾索取。如經營者擬採用其他消毒方法,則須先行向食環署申請,申請書應附連建議消毒系統的詳情。除非建議的消毒系統已被接納,否則不應安裝系統,為飼養供食用活海鮮的魚缸水消毒。

(7)    經營者應指派一名員工,專責整個過濾∕消毒系統的清洗和維修保養工作。

(8)    所有採用隨附格式記錄的維修保養資料須由專責員工∕承辦商填妥及核證,並存放在處所至少一年。這些資料包括檢查及清潔過濾∕消毒系統、更換和補充濾水介質、更換紫外光燈泡∕光管等詳情。有關記錄應時刻備妥,以便衞生督察隨時提出要求時可出示,以供查閱及複製。

(9)    須定期擦洗和徹底潔淨魚缸內壁,宜至少每星期一次。鋪置於缸內的沙石和其他裝飾物亦須以同樣方法清潔。擦洗及清潔後,須把缸內的水全部倒去,並把魚缸及其內的沙石沖洗乾淨,才重新注入合乎衞生標準的海水。

(10)   每次潔淨魚缸時,須將供應水和空氣至魚缸的所有喉管徹底清潔,並用清水沖洗。定期妥善和徹底清洗整套裝置,對保持魚缸水的水質十分重要。

(11)   魚缸四周的地方須保持清潔及空氣流通,亦不能有結構上的缺陷。

(12)   接觸到魚缸水的魚網及其他物品應保持潔淨。魚網用完後,應存放在清潔的專用盛載桶內。營業時間過後,魚網及其盛載桶均應徹底潔淨,並以清水沖洗。

(13)   接觸魚缸時,應戴上乾淨的膠手套。

(14)   長期未經使用的魚缸和其他連接魚缸的物件必須徹底清洗,才可再次使用。

(15)   定期更換魚缸水能有效清除由活魚∕介貝類水產動物產生的有害物質,亦可避免因魚缸水混濁而令消毒系統的效能下降。

 

人造海水

(16)   應從可信賴的供應商購買海鹽製造人造海水。

(17)   自來水的自由餘氯含量會隨時間減少。把鹽加進水裏,或整夜把水曝氣,都能有效把餘氯含量下降至極低水平。

(18)   使用海鹽的指引,例如鹽和水的比例等,一般都印在包裝袋上,應予遵從。

 

過濾系統

(19)   過濾物料應至少每星期清潔一次,以及至少每月補充一次。

(20)   如使用海綿過濾器,應更頻密地清潔和補充過濾物料。此外,如缸內的水質變差及∕或所飼養的活魚數目較多,亦應更頻密地清潔和補充過濾物料。

(21)   假如使用沙粒過濾器,必須定期以反沖方法清洗沙粒,直至污水變得清澈為止。過濾器在運作一段長時間後,便須補充沙粒。

(22)   如使用活性碳過濾器,應定期檢查保養。

(23)   如情況許可,宜使用包括粗沙和幼沙作為過濾物料的層沙過濾器,而過濾器應設有自動反沖的潔淨裝置。

(24)   魚缸水應先流經過濾設施,才流入消毒設施,兩項設施的安裝位置不可倒轉,這樣才能清除魚缸水中的懸浮固體或微粒,避免影響消毒設施的效能。

 

紫外線輻射消毒系統指引

(1)    所採用的紫外光燈必須能夠釋放出紫外線C波段(介乎280納米與100納米之間),而最高輸出波長應為254納米。宜採用雙筒式光管及較強光度的紫外光燈。

(2)    紫外光燈應完全密封,以免任何人受到紫外線輻射影響。

(3)    由於紫外光燈會老化而逐漸失效,因此應定期更換紫外光燈,宜每隔六至九個月更換一次,不可等到紫外光燈自然耗盡時才更換。

(4)    應由系統供應商或曾受訓練的人員至少每月清潔紫外光燈的石英套管一次。

(5)    應由系統供應商或曾受訓練的人員定期檢查保養,宜至少每隔六個月檢查一次。

(6)    由於消毒系統的效能亦受水的循環時間影響,系統中的水應至少每小時循環2次,即每30分鐘流經過濾和消毒系統1次,以便有效減低魚缸內的細菌含量。

1600升的魚缸為例,流經過濾和消毒系統的流速應為每分鐘20升,整個系統的水循環時間才能達致30分鐘。

(7)    經營者應與供應商磋商,確保安裝的紫外線消毒系統符合設計規格和能夠發揮最大的消毒作用。

 

臭氧消毒系統指引

(1)    臭氧消毒系統須由承造商按特定需求設計,才能發揮最大消毒效用。在安裝系統前,必須進行測試,並調校好臭氧濃度,以確保用作消毒的臭氧濃度適中。

(2)    系統的設備應由曾受訓練人員或系統供應商定期維修保養,宜每季一次。清潔和維修保養系統時,必須關上臭氧產生器。

(3)    臭氧消毒系統應能監察四周的臭氧水平,並設有關閉設備和警報器,於四周臭氧水平超過百萬分之0.1時自行啟動。假如實際情況難以安裝清除漏出臭氧的裝置,便應把臭氧產生器和臭氧接觸缸安裝在空氣流通的地方,並且裝上了附有自動警報器和關閉設備的臭氧洩漏探測器。使用者須注意不正確操作臭氧系統是可能產生危險的。

(4)    假如使用紫外線輻射來產生臭氧,應定期更換所使用的紫外光燈,宜每隔六至九個月更換一次,不可等用到紫外光燈自然耗盡時才更換。

(5)    臭氧消毒系統應設有臭氧接觸缸,以容許臭氧有充分時間在接觸缸內溶於水中,這樣的消毒系統才能發揮最大效用,同時亦不會影響人和魚類的健康。臭氧接觸缸應妥善蓋好。不應把臭氧不斷直接輸入魚缸,因為直接接觸臭氧可損害魚類健康,而洩漏臭氧也會危及周圍的人的健康。此外亦應避免把臭氧直接輸入設有過濾設施的魚缸亦應避免,因為這會減低過濾和消毒作用。

(6)    經營者應要求臭氧消毒系統供應商確保所安裝的系統符合設計規格,以發揮最大的消毒作用。

 

銅∕銀電離化消毒系統指引

(1)    經營者應要求供應商確保所安裝的系統符合設計規格,能發揮最大的消毒作用。宜每兩星期量度魚缸水的殘餘離子數量一次。

(2)    經營者應就銅∕銀離子的使用量,徵詢系統供應商的意見,以確保系統的消毒效能,同時不會對活海鮮有不良影響。

(3)    經營者宜每天監測魚缸水的酸鹼值,確保酸鹼值介乎7.27.8之間,以達致最佳的消毒效果。

(4)    電離化消毒的電極宜每年更換一次。

(5)    應由曾受訓練的人員或系統供應商定期檢查保養系統,宜每季一次。

使用紫外線輻射及二氧化鈦的光催化技術消毒系統指引

(1)    所採用的紫外光燈必須能夠釋放出有效激發光催化反應的紫外線波段。

(2)    紫外光燈應完全密封,以免任何人受到紫外線輻射影響。

(3)    由於紫外光燈會日漸老化而逐漸失效,因此應定期更換紫外光燈,宜每隔六至九個月更換一次,不可等到紫外光燈自然耗盡時才更換。

(4)    應由系統供應商或曾受訓練的人員至少每月清潔紫外光燈的石英套管一次。

(5)    應由系統供應商定期更新或更換光催化劑,宜至少每年進行一次。

(6)    應由系統供應商定期檢查保養整個系統,宜至少每隔三個月檢查一次。

(7)    經營者應要求供應商確保安裝的系統符合設計規格和能發揮最大的消毒作用。

 維修飼養活海魚及/或介貝類水產動物的水的過濾及消毒設備紀錄( PDF / 14 KB )

覆檢日期: