Pleasant Environment
Pleasant Environment>Cleansing Services

Cleansing Services

Street Cleansing | Waste Collection | Gully Cleansing | Conservancy Services | Poster Removal
| Public Refuse Collection Points | Public Toilets | Public Bathhouses | Vehicles

Street Cleansing Performance Pledge
The Department and its cleansing contractors have a total workforce of about 10 800 to keep the city clean and provide cleansing services, including street sweeping, waste collection and other cleansing work in Hong Kong. Workers normally begin working at daybreak and continue until late evening. All streets are manually swept at least once everyday. In the main commercial and tourist areas, streets are swept an average of four times a day, and up to eight times a day in the busiest pedestrian areas.
Street Cleansing

Street Cleansing

Complementing manual sweeping are 7 nos. of contractor's mechanical sweepers used to cleanse highways, flyovers and central road dividers and other high-use traffic areas. These mechanical sweepers normally swing into action after midnight when there is less traffic. The Department and its cleansing contractors have a total of 97 street washing vehicles which operate day and night with the frequency of street washing ranging from on need basis to daily depending on the nature of the area served.

The Department has continued to contract out street cleansing services for greater efficiency and cost-saving.

To help keep Hong Kong tidy, about 21 200 litter containers and about 1 700 dog excreta collection bins are placed on the streets. They are cleared at least once a day. Moreover, with a view to promoting public participation in waste reduction and environmental protection, recyclables collection bins have now been provided at 1 985 locations at public places (see appended list) including streets, refuse collection points, public markets, bus termini, MTR exits etc. for the collection of waste paper, metal and plastic materials.


This Department carries out daily enforcement action to prosecute littering offenders. To step up law enforcement to keep Hong Kong clean, the Fixed Penalty System against the following common public cleanliness offences is introduced: -
  1. Littering;
  2. Spitting;
  3. Unauthorized display of bills or posters; and
  4. Fouling of street by dog faeces.

The level of fixed penalty is $1,500 effective from 26 June 2003.

During the year of 2014, enforcement officers of the Department issued over 33 500 fixed penalty notices against cleanliness offences. The cases involved a total fines of about $ 50.25 million.

To facilitate the public to report cases of the littering from vehicle, a Littering From Vehicle - Report Form (in PDF format) has been introduced by this Department. This form is obtainable at the District Environmental Health Offices and the District Offices of the Home Affairs Department.  


Waste Collection

waste collectionThe Department and its cleansing contractors operate some 237 modern refuse collection vehicles. Every day, about 5 390 tonnes of household waste is collected, including 1 020 tonnes from Hong Kong Island, 1 680 tonnes from Kowloon and 2 690 tonnes from the New Territories and outlying islands. They are taken to the refuse transfer stations or landfills managed by the Environmental Protection Department.

 


Gully Cleansing Performance Pledge

Gully Cleansing
Roadside gullies are generally cleared manually every two to four weeks. Application of larvicidal oil is done on weekly basis as a precaution against mosquito breeding. Dirt and refuse taken from gullies are delivered to refuse collection points. Gully emptiers are used to clear gully traps on highways and flyovers where manual means will pose danger to life and limb. Such gullies are desilted once every six weeks. The Department currently employs 3 in-house gully emptiers and 4 contractor's gully emptiers to provide gully emptying service, and they are normally employed after midnight when traffic is light. The silt and dirt sucked up into gully emptiers are discharged at refuse transfer stations.

 


Conservancy Services Performance Pledge

Conservancy services are still provided to some old tenements on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon where there is no sewerage system by 1 contractor’s specially designed nightsoil vehicle. Furthermore, the department currently employs 5 in-house desludging vehicles and 3 contractor's desludging vehicles to empty sludge from septic tanks and aqua privies. Desludging service for individual members of the public is provided upon their requests and at a charge. Nightsoil and sludge collected will be transported to Sewage Treatment Works of the Drainage Services Department for disposal.

 


Poster RemovalPoster Removal

It is an offence to display bills and posters in any streets or public places throughout Hong Kong without the permission of the Lands Department and this Department, or in case of private land, without the permission of the owner or occupier. Every day, the staff of the Department will, in addition to patrolling the streets and removing unauthorized posters, take out prosecution action against any person found responsible for placing such posters.

Where a bill or poster is displayed on any private land or on any Government land, the bill or poster shall be maintained in a clean and tidy condition.


Public Refuse Collection Points Performance Pledge

Refuse Collection PointsThe Department has a total of 157 permanent off-street public refuse collection points (RCPs), 702 village-type RCPs and some 2 300 bin sites. As regards the permanent off-street RCPs, there are 46 on Hong Kong Island, 60 in Kowloon and 51 in the New Territories and on outlying islands. New RCPs, which are visually attractive as well as odourless, are equipped with water scrubber systems, vehicle exhaust extraction systems and high pressure water jet cleaners. In addition, large-scale turn-tables are installed in certain RCPs to facilitate the in and out movements of refuse collection vehicles.

Refuse Collection PointsRefuse collection vehicles of the Department and its cleaning contractors will collect household refuse at least once a day at public refuse collection points which are generally in operation from 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. For those in busy areas, the operation hours are extended to 11:30 p.m.. All RCPs receive household refuse during operation hours. For other category of wastes, public should deliver them to landfills / refuse transfer stations managed by the Environmental Protection Department or public filling facilities managed by the Civil Engineering and Development Department.

No Illegal Dumping of Wastes

 


Public Toilets Performance Pledge


Altogether 786 public toilets come under this Department - 94 on Hong Kong Island, 62 in Kowloon and 630 in the New Territories and on outlying islands. In addition, there are 61 aqua privies in the New Territories and on outlying islands. Others, at parks, beaches and other recreational venues, are managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. To improve cost-effectiveness, cleansing services for all public toilets are contracted out.

All public toilets are open 24 hours a day and are cleansed at least twice a day.Public Toilets

The main features of modern public toilets are as follows :

the external design shall be aesthetical and distinctive.
the toilet areas shall be spacious.
materials such as large tiles and urinals bowl shall be used for ease of maintenance.
The toilet areas shall be provided with sufficient lighting, both natural and artificial, with the use of glass block partitions.
ventilation in the toilet areas shall be enhanced with high headroom, cross-ventilation windows and ventilation system to provide a well-ventilated environment.
service corridors shall be provided at the back of W.C. cubicles to accommodate pipes, drains, concealed cisterns and automatic flushing cisterns of urinals for ease of maintenance.
adequate and modern facilities shall be provided such as electric hand dryers and stainless steel handrails.
accessible toilets shall be provided in the general toilet areas.
more facilities, such as small litter bins for disposal of sanitary napkins and hooks, shall be provided.
baby napkin changing areas shall be provided in the toilet areas.

In order to upgrade old public toilets to the latest standard of provision, the Department has embarked on a programme of improvement. In 2014, 15 public toilets have been upgraded.


Public BathhousesPublic Bathhouses

In older districts where poor housing accommodation still exists, the Department provides public bathhouses, of which 7 are on Hong Kong Island, 10 in Kowloon and 11 in the New Territories and on outlying islands. Currently, cleansing services for public bathhouses are contracted out.

The opening hours of public bathhouses are generally from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. and from 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. daily. The provision of hot water starts from any day in November every year when the temperature at 7 a.m. is recorded at 20°C or below, and stops when the temperature at 7 a.m. is recorded at 25°C or above for three consecutive days in April the following year.


Vehicles

At present, the following specialized vehicles are used by the Department in cleansing services:

Refuse Collection Vehicles
  • Faun VarioPress
  • Pennelli
  • Fujimighty
  • China Youth
  • CIMC
Refuse Collection Vehicles
Other Specialised Vehicles
  • Street Washing Vehicle
  • Gully Emptier
  • Desludger
  • Tipper Lorry
Other Specialised Vehicles
Last revision date:

環境衞生
環境衞生>潔淨服務

潔淨服務

清掃街道 | 收集垃圾 | 清理溝渠 | 清糞服務 |
清理海報 | 公眾垃圾收集站 | 公廁 | 公共浴室 | 車輛

清掃街道 服務承諾

本署及潔淨服務承辦商共約 10 800 名潔淨組員工肩負本港的清潔重任並提供潔淨服務,包括清掃街道、收集垃圾及其他清潔服務。清潔工人每日清晨開始工作,直至晚上。所有街道每天由清潔工人最少清掃 1 次。主要商業區和旅遊地點的街道,平均每天清掃 4 次,而行人眾多的地區更每日清掃街道達 8 次之多。

 

清掃街道

清掃街道

除人手清掃街道外,本署的潔淨服務承辦商現時使用 7 輛機動掃街車以清掃公路、天橋及道路中央分隔欄。這些機動掃街車通常在午夜後才操作,以避過日間繁忙的交通。此外,本署及潔淨服務承辦商共備有99輛洗街車不分晝夜地工作,清洗街道。街道清洗的次數會因應地區而調整,由有需要才清洗至每星期至少兩次不等。

為提高工作效率及節省費用,本署會繼續將街道潔淨服務外批。

為保持市容整潔,本署在街道上設置 21 200 多個廢屑箱和 1 700 多個狗糞收集箱,由員工及承辦商工人至少每天清理 1 次。此外,現時本署亦在全港 1 989 處公眾地方(見附表)如街道、垃圾收集站、公眾街市、 公共巴士總站、港鐵站出口等設置廢物回收箱,分別回收廢紙、金屬及塑膠物料等可循環再造廢物,藉此提高市民支持廢物回收再造的意識及宣傳環保的重要性。

本署每天都會進行執法行動,檢控亂拋垃圾的人士。為了加強執法,保持香港清潔,政府實施定額罰款制度,針對以下常見的公眾地方潔淨違例事項: -

  1. 亂拋垃圾;
  2. 隨地吐痰;
  3. 未經准許而展示招貼或海報;以及
  4. 讓犬隻糞便弄污街道。

定額罰款由2003年6月26日起為港幣1,500元。

在 2013年,本署的執法人員就上述潔淨違例事項共發出逾 34 900 張定額罰款通知書。個案的罰款總額約為 5,235 萬元。

為方便市民舉報從車上拋擲垃圾的個案,本署已印備「從車上拋擲垃圾─舉報表格(PDF)」,市民可在本署各區環境衞生辦事處及民政事務總署各區民政事務處索取。


收集垃圾

本署及潔淨服務承辦商合共提供約 237 輛現代化垃圾車的車隊。現時,每日收集到的家居廢物約有 5 340 公噸,包括港島區 1 020 公噸、九龍區 1 660 公噸及新界和離島區 2 660 公噸。這些廢物會運往環境保護署所管理的廢物轉運站及垃圾堆填區。 收集垃圾

清理溝渠

服務承諾
清理溝渠
在本港的道路上,大部分排水溝渠的垃圾和沙泥是由本署員工及承辦商工人以人手清理,通常每 2-4 星期清理 1 次,每星期需加上滅蚊油,以防蚊蟲滋生。從溝渠清理出來的垃圾和沙泥,則送往垃圾收集站處理。在高速公路及行車天橋上的溝渠,則使用吸渠車清理,因為在這些地區以人手清渠,容易引起交通意外。這些地區的溝渠每六星期清理1次。現時本署及潔淨服務承辦商分別有 3 及 4 輛吸渠車。吸渠車清理出來的沙泥碎石是送往廢物轉運站處理的。

清糞服務 服務承諾

本署潔淨服務承辦商的1輛經特別設計的清糞車繼續為港島及九龍區若干欠缺污水系統的舊式樓宇提供清糞服務。此外,現時本署及潔淨服務承辦商分別使用5及3輛吸渠糞車以清理化糞池或旱廁。如市民提出要求清理化糞池並繳付費用,署方亦會為其提供服務。糞便及污泥收集後會運往渠務署的污水處理廠處理。


清理海報

任何人士未得地政總署及本署批准,在本港各街道或公共地方張貼標語或海報,或在私人土地未獲得該土地的擁有人或佔用人准許,均屬違法。本署職員除每日巡邏各街道並將違例街招等除去外,亦會對任何未得批准而張貼海報的人士提出檢控。

凡在私人土地上或政府土地上展示任何招貼或海報,該招貼或海報須保持清潔整齊。

清理海報

公眾垃圾收集站

服務承諾

垃圾收集站本署共有 159 個永久離街垃圾收集站、703 個鄉村式垃圾站和
2 300 多個垃圾桶置放處。永久離街垃圾收集站分別有 46個設於港島區62個設於九龍區51個設於新界及離島區。新建的垃圾收集站外型美觀而又無臭,站內裝設有水劑滌氣系統、車輛廢氣抽氣系統及高壓清洗水槍。此外,部分垃圾收集站亦設有大型轉車台以方便垃圾車進出。

垃圾收集站本署及潔淨服務承辦商的垃圾收集車輛會每天到公眾垃圾收集站收集家居廢物1次或以上。這些垃圾收集站的開放時間一般是每天上午 7 時至下午 3時 30 分,而在繁忙地區,則延長至晚上 11時 30 分。在開放時間內,所有垃圾收集站均收納家居廢物。至於其他類別的廢物,市民應自行運往由環境保護署管理的堆填區、廢物轉運站或由土木工程拓展署管理的公眾填土設施。

切勿隨處傾卸廢物



公廁

服務承諾

由本署負責管理的公廁共有780 間,其中 94 間設在港島區63 間設在九龍區623 間設在新界及離島區。除此,另有69 間旱廁設在新界及離島區。此外,設在公園、沙灘及其他康樂場地內的廁所則由康樂及文化事務署負責管理。為提高成本效益,所有公廁的清潔工作已外批予合約承辦商。所有公廁都是24小時開放,每天由承辦商清洗最少 2 次。

新式公廁主要的設施如下:公廁

  • 公廁外貌要講究美觀和有建築藝術特色。

  • 廁所內要有寬敞的空間。

  • 採用較易打理的材料,如面積大的磚,尿盆。

  • 自然光與人造光並用,用玻璃磚間隔,保持廁內光線充足。

  • 加強廁內通風設備,高樓底,對流窗,抽風系統,使人覺得通爽。

  • 在各排廁格後面設置維修通道,內置供水管、排水管、隱蔽的廁所水箱、尿廁的自動沖廁水箱等,方便維修。

  • 提供足夠和先進設施,如乾手機及不銹鋼扶手。

  • 在男∕女廁內設置暢通易達廁所。

  • 提供更多其他設施,包括衞生巾箱及掛勾。

  • 在廁所內設地方供嬰兒換尿布。

為使現有的公廁能符合新釐定的標準和要求,署方已展開改善工程計劃。在 2013 年,本署共有12間公廁完成翻新工程。


公共浴室

公共浴室

在本港的一些舊區內仍然有少數設備未合乎現今衞生標準的樓宇存在,這些樓宇並沒有設置浴室。署方在這些地區內建有公共浴室,其中 7 間設在港島10 間設在九龍11 間設在新界及離島區。現時,公共浴室的清潔工作已外批予合約承辦商。

公共浴室每天的開放時間一般由上午 7 至 9 時,及由下午 4 時 30 分至晚上 8 時 30 分。每年 11 月份任何首天上午 7 時錄得攝氏 20 度或以下,便開始供應熱水給市民沐浴,直至翌年 4 月份任何連續 3 天上午 7 時錄得攝氏 25 度或以上,便會停止熱水供應。

 

 


車輛

署方現時使用下列特種車輛,提供潔淨服務:

垃圾收集車型號
  • 維澳柏
  • 富士能
  • 柏里尼
  • 中田
  • 中集
垃圾收集車
其他特種車
  • 洗街車
  • 吸渠車
  • 清糞車
  • 自動卸斗貨車
其他特種車


最近修訂日期: