FOOD AND ENVIRONMENTAL HYGIENE DEPARTMENT

(Civil Service Vacancy)

Health Inspector II

Salary: Master Pay Scale Point 14 ($27,485 per month) to Master Pay Scale Point 24 ($44,415 per month)

Entry Requirements: Candidates should have –

(a) an accredited Higher Diploma or Associate Degree in Biology, Public Health, Environmental Health, Environmental Science, Environmental Technology, Environmental Engineering, Food Science, Nutrition Science or a related science subject from a Hong Kong tertiary institution, or equivalent; and (b) met the language proficiency requirements of Level 2 or above in Chinese Language and English Language in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination or Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination, or equivalent; and be able to speak fluent Cantonese.

[Notes: For civil service appointment purpose, ‘Grade C’ and ‘Grade E’ in Chinese Language and English Language (Syllabus B) in the HKCEE before 2007 are accepted administratively as comparable to ‘Level 3’ and ‘Level 2’ respectively in Chinese Language and English Language in the 2007 HKCEE and henceforth.]

Duties: Health Inspectors II are mainly deployed on: (a) inspecting food/non-food premises, licensing, prosecution, meat inspection, public cleansing, pest control, contract management, outsourcing, control of hawkers and markets, cemeteries and crematoria, food safety and control, health education, other environmental hygiene and food-related services; and handling complaints arising from the above functions; and (b) enforcing the statutory requirements contained in the various ordinances and subsidiary legislation pertaining to public health, environmental hygiene, food safety and control, and public cleansing.

[Notes: (i) Health Inspectors II are required to wear uniform; (ii) Subject to posting and transfer as and when required; and (iii) May be required to perform shift duties, on-call duties, work in irregular hours and work in other government departments.]

Terms of appointment: A new appointee will normally be appointed on civil service probationary terms for three years.  Upon passage of probation bar, the officer may be considered for appointment on the prevailing permanent terms.

[Notes: (i) Health Inspectors II are required to undergo a two-part basic training programme and required to undertake an end-of-course examination after attending the first part of the basic training programme.  Failure in the examination may result in their service being terminated; and (ii) Health Inspectors II are also required to undergo a Professional Diploma Course in Waste Management and Meat and Foods Inspection, or equivalent and obtain the requisite academic qualification within the probationary period.  Failure in obtaining the requisite academic qualification within the probationary period may result in their service being terminated.]

Basic Law Assessment: For the purpose of heightening public awareness of the Basic Law (BL) and promoting a culture of learning of BL in the community, applicants for civil service jobs will be assessed on their BL knowledge.  The BL test result will constitute an appropriate weighting in a candidate’s overall assessment.

How to Apply:

Applicants should send a completed application form [G.F. 340 (Rev. 3/2013)] obtainable from any Home Affairs Enquiry Centres of District Offices, Home Affairs Department or any Job Centres of the Employment Services Division, Labour Department, or downloaded from the Civil Service Bureau website (http://www.csb.gov.hk) and specify "Application for the post of Health Inspector II" on the envelope to the enquiry address below.  The closing date for application is 8 December 2017 or postmarked on 8 December 2017 (Note : the postmark on envelope will be regarded as the only valid date of application).  On-line application can also be made through Civil Service Bureau website (http://www.csb.gov.hk) on or before 8 December 2017.

ALL applicants (application by post and online) should send by POST not later than 15 December 2017 (Note : the postmark on envelope will be regarded as the only valid date of this submission of supporting documents) to the enquiry address below photocopies of ALL official certificates and transcripts of studies in support of the academic qualifications stated in the application form (including photocopies of certificates and transcripts showing the results achieved in Chinese and English languages).  On-line applicants should also quote the ‘on-line application number’ on the envelope and on all photocopies of certificates and transcripts.

Underpaid mail items are subject to surcharge by Hongkong Post.  This department will not accept underpaid mail items, which will be handled by Hongkong Post.  To ensure mail items be duly received by the department, and to avoid unnecessary delivery delay (e.g. return to sender), please pay sufficient postage before posting mail items to this department.

Applications which are incomplete, or late, or submitted by fax or e-mail, or without photocopies of the supporting certificates and transcripts will not be considered.  Applications without sending on or before 15 December 2017 photocopies of the supporting certificates and transcripts will be regarded as incomplete and not be considered.

For purposes of contact and notification, applicants are required to state e-mail addresses in the application forms.  Applicants who are selected to sit for the written examination will normally receive an invitation by e-mail in about sixteen weeks from the closing date for application.  Applicants not invited for the written examination may assume that their applications are unsuccessful.  Only shortlisted candidates after conclusion of the written examination will be invited for selection interview.  The information provided will be kept confidential and only be used for application processing.

Address and Enquiry Tel.: Appointments Section, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, 44/F., Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong.  For enquiries, please call 2867 5265.

Closing Date of application: 8 December 2017

General Notes:

(a)
Candidates must be permanent residents of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region at the time of appointment unless specified otherwise.
(b)
As an Equal Opportunities Employer, the Government is committed to eliminating discrimination in employment.  The vacancy advertised is open to all applicants meeting the basic entry requirement irrespective of their disability, sex, marital status, pregnancy, age, family status, sexual orientation and race.
(c)
Civil service vacancies are posts on the civil service establishment.  Candidates selected for these vacancies will be appointed on civil service terms of appointment and conditions of service and will become civil servant on appointment.
(d)
The entry pay, terms of appointment and conditions of service to be offered are subject to the provisions prevailing at the time the offer of appointment is made.
(e)
The information on maximum pay point is for reference only and may be subject to changes.
(f)
Fringe benefits include paid leave, medical and dental benefits, and where appropriate, assistance in housing.
(g)
Where a large number of candidates meet the specified entry requirements, the recruiting department may devise shortlisting criteria to select the better qualified candidates for further processing.  In these circumstances, only shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend written examination and/or selection interview.
(h)
It is Government policy to place people with a disability in appropriate jobs wherever possible.  If a disabled candidate meets the entry requirements, he/she will be invited to attend the written examination and/or selection interview without being subject to further shortlisting.
(i)
Applicants should state in the application form academic qualifications they have already attained by the closing date of application (i.e. 8 December 2017).  Photocopies of official certificates and transcripts in support of all the stated academic qualifications should be sent by post to the enquiry address in strict accordance with the stipulated timeframe (i.e. on or before 15 December 2017 on proof of postmark).
(j)
Holders of academic qualifications other than those obtained from Hong Kong institutions/Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority may also apply but their qualifications will be subject to assessments on equivalence with the required entry qualifications.  They should submit photocopies of their official transcripts and certificates in support of all the stated academic qualifications by post to the enquiry address in strict accordance with the stipulated timeframe (i.e. on or before 15 December 2017 on proof of postmark).
(k)

Civil service vacancies information contained in this advertisement is also available on the following website: http://www.gov.hk of the GovHK.

(l)
Towards the application deadline, our on-line system would likely be overloaded due to large volume of applications.  To ensure timely completion of your on-line application, it is advisable to submit the application as early as possible.
Last revision date:

食物環境衞生署
(公務員職位空缺)

二級衞生督察
 

薪酬:總薪級表第14點(每月港幣27,485元)至總薪級表第24點(每月港幣44,415元)

 

入職條件:申請人必須-

(a)持有香港任何一所大專院校所頒發的生物學、公眾衞生、環境衞生、環境科學、環境科技、環境工程、食品科學、營養科學或相關理科科目的經評審高級文憑或副學士學位,或同等學歷;以及
 
(b)符合語文能力要求,即在香港中學文憑考試或香港中學會考中國語文科及英國語文科中取得第2級或以上的成績,或同等成績;並能操流利粵語。
 
[註:政府在聘任公務員時,2007年前的香港中學會考中國語文科和英國語文科(課程乙)「C級」及「E級」成績,在行政上會分別被視為等同2007年或之後香港中學會考中國語文科和英國語文科「第3級」和「第2級」成績。]
 

職責:二級衞生督察主要負責:(a)巡查食物業∕非食物業處所,牌照事務,檢控,肉類檢驗,公眾潔淨,防治蟲鼠,合約管理,外判服務,管理小販及街市,墳場和火葬場,規管食物及食物安全,衞生教育,其他環境衞生和食物相關的職務,以及處理由上述職務產生的投訴;以及(b)執行與公眾衞生、環境衞生、規管食物安全和公眾潔淨事宜有關的條例及附屬法例所載的法例規定。

 
[註:(i)二級衞生督察須穿著制服;(ii)接受按需要而作出的調派∕調職安排;及(iii)或須執行輪班工作、隨時候召工作、不定時工作及派駐其他政府部門工作。]
 

聘用條款:獲取錄的申請人通常會按公務員試用條款受聘三年,成功通過試用期者將獲當局考慮按當時適用的長期聘用條款聘用。

 

[註:(i)二級衞生督察須修讀包括兩部分的基本訓練課程,並須在完成基本訓練課程的第一部分後,參加期終考試,未能取得及格成績者或會被終止聘用;及(ii)二級衞生督察亦須在試用期內修讀廢物管理、肉類檢驗及食物檢驗專業文憑課程或同等課程,並取得有關文憑。有關人員如未能在試用期內取得有關文憑,或會被終止聘用。]

 

《基本法》知識評核:為提高大眾對《基本法》的認知和在社區推廣學習《基本法》的風氣,政府會測試應徵公務員職位人士的《基本法》知識。申請人在基本法測試的表現會佔其整體表現的一個適當比重。

 

申請手續:

申請人須填妥申請表格[通用表格第340號(3/2013俢訂版)]並送交下述查詢地址,信封面須註明“申請二級衞生督察職位”。申請表格可向民政事務總署各區民政事務處諮詢中心或勞工處就業科各就業中心索取,或可從公務員事務局網站(http://www.csb.gov.hk)下載。截止申請日期為2017年12月8日(或郵戳日期為2017年12月8日)(註:信封上的郵戳日期會視作唯一有效的申請日期)。申請人亦可在2017年12月8日或之前透過公務員事務局網站(http://www.csb.gov.hk)遞交網上申請。

 
所有申請人(郵寄申請和網上申請)均須在2017年12月15日或之前(註:信封上的郵戳日期會視作唯一有效的遞交證明文件日期)以郵寄方式所有正式證書和修業成績表的副本送交下述查詢地址,以證明在申請表格上所填報的學歷(包括載有中國語文科及英國語文科成績的證書和修業成績表的副本)。申請人如在網上遞交申請,必須在信封面及所有證書和修業成績表的副本上註明‘網上申請編號’
 
若郵件郵資不足,香港郵政會收取欠資及相關費用。本署不會接收郵資不足的信件,有關郵件將由香港郵政處理。為確保本署能妥收郵件,及免卻不必要的派遞延誤(例如,退回寄件人),請切記投寄郵件前貼上足夠郵資。
 
如填報的資料不全,或逾期遞交,或以傳真∕電郵方式遞交,或沒有遞交有關證書和修業成績表的副本,申請將不獲考慮如申請人未能在2017年12月15日或之前遞交有關證書和修業成績表的副本,其申請會視作資料不全,不會獲考慮
 
申請人須在申請表格上填寫電郵地址,作聯絡和通知用途。申請人如獲選參加筆試,通常會在截止申請日期後約16個星期內經電郵方式接到通知。如申請人未獲邀參加筆試,則可視作經已落選。只有通過筆試篩選的申請人才會獲邀參加遴選面試。申請人所提供的資料將予保密,並只作處理申請用途。
 

地址及查詢電話﹕香港金鐘道66號金鐘道政府合署44樓食物環境衞生署聘用組。如有查詢,請致電2867 5265。

截止申請日期:2017年12月8日

附註:

(a)
除另有指明外,申請人於獲聘時必須已成為香港特別行政區永久性居民。
   
(b)
作為提供平等就業機會的僱主,政府致力消除在就業方面的歧視。所有符合基本入職條件的人士,不論其殘疾、性別、婚姻狀況、懷孕、年齡、家庭崗位、性傾向和種族,均可申請本欄內的職位。
   
(c)
公務員職位是公務員編制內的職位。申請人如獲聘用,將按公務員聘用條款和服務條件聘用,並成為公務員。
   
(d)
入職薪酬、聘用條款及服務條件,應以獲聘時之規定為準。
   
(e)
頂薪點的資料只供參考,該項資料日後或會有所更改。
   
(f)
附帶福利包括有薪假期、醫療及牙科診療。在適當情況下,公務員更可獲得房屋資助。
   
(g)
如果符合訂明入職條件的應徵者人數眾多,招聘部門可以訂立篩選準則,甄選條件較佳的應徵者,以便進一步處理。在此情況下,只有獲篩選的應徵者會獲邀參加筆試/遴選面試。
   
(h)
政府的政策,是盡可能安排殘疾人士擔任適合的職位。殘疾人士申請職位,如其符合入職條件,毋須再經篩選,便會獲邀參加筆試/遴選面試。
   
(i)
申請人須於申請表格上填報其在截止申請日期(即2017年12月8日)已獲取的學歷。申請人填報的所有學歷的正式證書和修業成績表的副本,必須在指定時限內(即2017年12月15日或之前(以郵戳日期為準))以郵寄方式送交查詢地址。
   
(j)
持有本港以外學府∕非香港考試及評核局頒授的學歷人士亦可申請,惟其學歷必須經過評審以確定是否與職位所要求的本地學歷水平相若。有關申請人必須在指定時限內(即2017年12月15日或之前(以郵戳日期為準)),以郵寄方式把填報的所有學歷的正式修業成績表和證書的副本送交查詢地址。
   
(k)
本欄內的公務員職位空缺資料,也載於香港政府一站通網站(http://www.gov.hk)。
   
(l)
在臨近截止申請日期,接受網上申請的伺服器可能因為需要處理大量申請而非常繁忙。申請人應盡早遞交申請,以確保在限期前成功於網上完成申請程序。
最近修訂日期: