Jump to Main Content
Information for Operators
An Overview of the Main Provisions of the Private Columbaria Ordinance
  • Notice on Briefing on Application Guide for the Private Columbaria Ordinance (for private columbaria trade)
  • The Private Columbaria Licensing Board (PCLB) is a statutory licensing authority. It considers and determines applications for different types of specified instruments (i.e. licence, exemption and temporary suspension of liability) in respect of private columbaria. FEHD is responsible for handling matters concerning the execution of the Private Columbaria Ordinance, including assisting the PCLB in processing applications for specified instruments.
  • The Private Columbaria Ordinance has come into effect. A person must obtain a specified instrument, namely a licence, an exemption or a temporary suspension of liability (TSOL), for operating, keeping, managing or in any other way having control of a private columbarium.
  • A private columbarium that wants to be issued a specified instrument must comply with all the applicable statutory and government requirements, including those relating to land leases or other land instruments, town planning and building safety and also submit a management plan (for application for a licence only). Please click here for details.
  • Please click here for details of the permitted business activities for holders of different types of specified instruments.
  • The type of specified instrument that a columbarium may apply for is determined by the date of commencement of operation of the columbarium. Please click here for details.
  • A private columbarium must obtain a licence before it sells or newly lets out niches. For an agreement for sale of interment right entered into on or after the enactment date, the agreement must be in writing and must comply with the requirements stipulated under the Ordinance, including setting out in the agreement the information, recommendations and essential terms prescribed in the Ordinance. Otherwise the agreement may be unenforceable by the operator against the purchaser (see section 49(2) and (3) of the Ordinance) and the purchaser may cancel the agreement by giving the seller a written notice of cancellation and receive a refund of all money paid under the agreement.
  • A pre-cut-off private columbarium which intends to apply for an exemption must not sell or newly let out niches after 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014. Otherwise, the columbarium will not be eligible for an exemption and may only apply for a licence for which more stringent requirements under the new legislation will have to be satisfied.
  • If a columbarium was in operation immediately before the enactment date of the new legislation, there will be a grace period of 9 months beginning on the enactment date of the new legislation (i.e. 30 June 2017 to 29 March 2018). If the columbarium applies for a TSOL, the grace period remains valid during the processing of the application until it is finally disposed of or withdrawn. During the grace period, an eligible private columbarium may continue to operate without a specified instrument, but it must not sell or newly let niches.
  • A person who operates, keeps, manages or has control of a private columbarium in the contravention of the requirements under the new legislation will be liable to prosecution and, on summary conviction, to a fine of $2 million and to imprisonment for 3 years, or, on conviction on indictment, to a fine of $5 million and to imprisonment for 7 years.

Timetable for Acceptance of Applications
  • Any person who intends to apply for a licence or any other specified instrument under the Private Columbaria Ordinance must read the Application Guide and use the application form to submit application together with all the supporting documents and information as specified in the Application Guide.
  • The Private Columbaria Licensing Board has started receiving applications.
  • The deadline for submitting applications for specified instruments (viz. licence, exemption or temporary suspension of liability) in respect of pre-cut-off columbaria has expired by the end of 29 March 2018.
  • For enquiries, please call 2892 2731.
  • Enquiry telephone numbers of relevant government bureau and departments are as follows.
Validity Period of Specified Instruments
Types of Specified Instruments Validity Period
Licence
  • Must not exceed the shorter of the following:
    • the remainder of the term of the lease / tenancy of the columbarium premises
    • 10 years
Exemption
  • Must not exceed the remainder of the term of the lease / tenancy of the columbarium premises
Temporary Suspension of Liability (TSOL)
  • Initial validity period must not exceed 3 years
  • May apply for extension if necessary
  • May not be extended more than once, unless exceptional circumstances exist

Permitted Activities for Holders of Different Types of Specified Instruments
Types of Specified Instruments Permitted activities
Licence
  • Selling or letting out niches; and
  • General operation (including interment of ashes, but the number of sets of ashes kept in the columbarium should be limited to the maximum number as shown on the approved plans).
Exemption
  • General operation, but selling or newly letting out of niches is prohibited.
  • Ashes interred in a niche before 8am on 18 June 2014 (the “cut-off time”) can continue to be kept in that niche.
  • The columbarium must ensure that the number of sets of ashes kept is limited to the total number of sets of ashes that were kept as at the cut-off time with the following exceptions :
  • (1) For ashes interred in the columbarium between the cut-off time and the enactment date, the Private Columbaria Licensing Board (the Licensing Board) may permit the ashes to continue to be kept in the columbarium provided that one of the following criteria is met:
    1. the niche concerned was purchased or rented before the cut-off time and the name of the dedicated person has been entered into the endorsed register; or
    2. the ashes were interred in a religious ash pagoda Note (as defined by section 57(14) of the Ordinance), and no fees, charges or other sums were paid, or are payable, for the interment of ashes.
    (2) If the interment right in respect of any niche purchased or rented before the cut-off time has not been exercised or has only been partially exercised, ashes may be interred in that niche during the validity period of the exemption (the name of the dedicated person must be entered into the relevant register).
    (3) For a “religious ash pagoda” in a columbarium of a Chinese temple specified by the Secretary for Home Affairs (SHA) by notice published in the Gazette, the ashes of the religious practitioners may be interred in the “religious ash pagoda” according to the conditions set out by the SHA (including the number of sets of ashes that may be interred)
    (Note: Please click here for details of “religious ash pagoda”)
Temporary suspension of liability (TSOL)
  • General operation, but selling or newly letting out of niches is prohibited.
  • Unless otherwise specified, the columbarium must ensure that the number of sets of ashes kept is limited to the total number of sets of ashes kept at the following times:
    1. if the columbarium also applies for a licence --- limited to that as at the beginning of 30 June 2017; or
    2. if the columbarium also applies for an exemption only --- limited to that as at the cut-off time.
    3. Ashes interred before the cut-off time can continue to be kept in that niche.
    4. For ashes interred between the cut-off time and the enactment date (30 June 2017), the Licensing Board may permit the ashes to continue to be kept in the columbarium provided that one of the following criteria is met:
      1. the niche concerned was purchased or rented before the cut-off time; or
      2. the ashes were interred in a religious ash pagoda (as defined by section 57(14) of the Ordinance), and no fees, charges or other sums were paid, or are payable, for the interment of the ashes.

The relationship between the operation commencement date and the types of Specified Instruments Which the Private Columbaria May Apply for
Commencement of
columbarium operation
Remarks Types of specified instruments that can be applied for Grace period
Commenced operation (i.e. with niches sold or with ashes interred in a niche) before 1 January 1990 and is still in operation Must be in operation immediately before 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014 and with ashes interred in niches Exemption and/or Licence;

May also apply for a TSOL
A 9-month period beginning on 30 June 2017 (i.e. 30 June 2017 to 29 March 2018).

If an application has been made for TSOL, from 30 June 2017 until the application is finally disposed of or withdrawn
Commenced operation on or after 1 January 1990 but before 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014 and is still in operation Licence;

May also apply for a TSOL
Commenced operation at or after 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014 but before 30 June 2017 Licence For a columbarium which was in operation immediately before 30 June 2017, a 9-month period beginning on 30 June 2017 (until 29 March 2018)
Commenced operation on or after 30 June 2017 Licence Not applicable

An Overview of the Eligibility Requirements for Different Types of Specified Instruments
Application
eligibility requirements
“Pre-cut-off columbarium” (Note 1) Non pre-cut-off private columbarium
Temporary suspension of liability (TSOL)(must also apply for a licence and/or an exemption) Exemption Licence for “pre-cut-off columbarium”
(Note 1)
Licence
Building-related requirements
Planning-related requirements
Land-related requirements
Right to use the premises
Management Plan
Ash Interment Layout limited to that as at the cut-off-time
Ash Interment Capacity limited to that as at the cut-off-time
  • if the applicant also applies for a licence:
not applicable
  • if the applicant also applies for an exemption:not applicable
Ash Interment Quantity limited to that as at the cut-off-time If applicant also applies for the issue of an exemption:(Note 2)

(Note 3)
If applicant also applies for the issue of a licence: Ash Interment Quantity limited to that before 30 June 2017.
Extent of Occupation of Land limited to that as at the cut-off-time
Commencement of columbarium operation
  • if the applicant also applies for a licence: before 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014;
  • if the applicant also applies for an exemption: before 1 January 1990
Before 1 January 1990 Before 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014
No sale of or newly letting out of niches after the cut-off time if the applicant also applies for an exemption:
if the applicant also applies for a licence: not applicable
Requirements relating to deed of mutual covenant

Note 1:A “pre-cut-off columbarium” means a columbarium that was in operation, and in which ashes was interred in niches, immediately before the “cut-off time”. The “cut-off time” means 8 a.m. on 18 June 2014.
Note 2:The Private Columbaria Licensing Board may decide not to refuse an application even if ashes were interred in the columbarium since the “cut-off time” and before 30 June 2017, provided that one of the following conditions is satisfied-
  1. the concerned niches were sold or let out before 8:00 am on 18 June 2014; or
  2. the ashes were interred in a religious ash pagoda (as defined by section 57(14) of the Private Columbaria Ordinance), where no fees, charges or other sums were paid, or are payable, for the interment of the ashes.
Note 3:See note 2. Moreover, if the interment right in respect of any niche purchased or rented before the “cut-off time” has not been exercised or has only been exercised partially and the name of the dedicated person were entered into the relevant register, ashes may be interred in that niche during the validity period of the exemption. Ashes may also be interred in niches fulfilling the requirements for “religious ash pagoda” . For detail, please click here.

Proper handling of interred ashes
The operators of private columbaria must dispose of ashes properly
  1. A person who has operated, kept, managed or in any other way had control of or operates, keeps, manages or in any other way has control of a columbarium (hereinafter referred to as “the operators”), must not improperly dispose of ashes interred in the columbarium. Any private columbarium falling within the following situations are required to carry out the “prescribed ash disposal procedures” ( “PADP”) as stipulated by the Ordinance:
    • it commences operation on or after 30.6.2017, but without holding any valid specified instrument;
    • it was in operation before 30.6.2017, and continues to operate after the grace period while no specified instrument is in force in respect of it;
    • it is abandoned or ceases operation.
  2. An operator may apply to the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (the “Director”) in writing for an ash disposal plan setting out alternative ash disposal procedures which are as effective as the prescribed ash disposal procedures. A person is treated as having carried out the prescribed ash disposal procedures in respect of a columbarium if the person has carried out the procedures specified in an ash disposal plan approved by the Director in respect of the columbarium).
  3. An operator who illegally or improperly disposes of ashes commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $2,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years on summary conviction; and to a fine of $5,000,000 and to imprisonment for 7 years on conviction on indictment.
  4. The Ordinance also requires a person who takes possession of a columbarium premises (such as the owner, mortgagee, liquidator or trustee) to notify the Director in writing within 7 calendar days after the date of taking possession and carry out the PADP as soon as reasonably practicable (while some categories of persons in possession may invite the Director to carry out ash disposal for them) (see section 75 of the Ordinance).
  5. This webpage aims to provide guidance to those persons who are required to carry out PADP under the Ordinance with a view to facilitating them in understanding the relevant legal requirements of the Ordinance. The information in this webpage should not be treated as a substitute for the Ordinance. In case of doubts, the trade shall consider seeking legal advice to ensure that they comply with the legal requirements under the Ordinance.

The Guidelines in carrying out PADP
If any person who is required to carry out PADP in a columbarium premises, they may make reference to the following guidelines.

Guidelines for carrying out PADP

Abandonment of columbarium not allowed
The Private Columbaria Ordinance has come into effect. Whether or not a specified instrument is in force in respect of a private columbarium, once a decision is made to cease the operation of the columbarium, the operator should carry out the prescribed ash disposal procedures stipulated by the Ordinance. Non-compliance with this requirement constitutes an offence.

If the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (Director) or an authorized officer suspects that a columbarium is not in operation, he / she may give a notice about suspected abandonment. Unless a “specified response” is given within 2 months after the date of the notice, the instrument holder/ the person who has operated, kept, managed or had control of the columbarium is liable to prosecution for abandonment of columbarium.

The meaning of “specified response” is as follows:
  1. the person concerned informs the Director or authorised officer, in writing, that he/she continues to operate the columbarium according to the specified instrument issued;
  2. the person concerned applies for renewal or extension of the instrument issued; or
  3. the person concerned gives to the Director or authorised officer a written undertaking to carry out the “prescribed ash disposal procedures”.

Application for an occupation order
If section 68, 69(1), 70(1), 72, 73 or 75(2) has been contravened, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department can apply to a magistrate for an occupation order to enter and occupy the columbarium premises to carry out the steps that are considered necessary for disposal of ashes and to arrange for the return of ashes and “related items”. The Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene will recover all expenses incurred in carrying out the steps which are necessary for the disposal of ashes from the operator and other persons liable under the Ordinance.

Major offences
Private columbaria operators must comply with the new legislation. Contravention of the following requirements will result in an offence having been committed:
  1. Operation without a specified instrument
    • Any person must not operate a private columbarium without a licence, except it is a pre-cut off columbarium issued with an exemption or TSOL and does not sell or newly let out any interment rights.
    • For “Grace Period” arrangements, please click here.

  2. Improper disposal of interred ashes
    • Any person who has operated, kept, managed or in any other way had control or is operating, keeping, managing or in any other way controlling a private columbarium (hereafter referred to as “operator”) to which any of the circumstances specified below applies but failed to carry out or finish the “prescribed ash disposal procedures” is regarded as having improperly disposed of ashes:
      • a private columbarium that commences operation on or after 30.6.2017 and is in operation without any valid specified instrument;
      • a private columbarium that was in operation immediately before 30.6.2017 and is in operation after the grace period while no specified instrument is in force in respect of it;
      • it is abandoned or ceases operation.
    • Any operator who disposes of ashes does so improperly unless he/ she complies with the following requirements:
      1. For the person, who holds a specified instrument or was operating a columbarium immediately before 30.6.2017 and disposes of ashes during the grace period: the ashes are disposed of not because of cessation of operation of the columbarium; the ashes are disposed of in accordance with the terms of any agreement for the sale of interment right and in compliance with other requirements under Section 68(3) of the Ordinance; or
      2. The disposal forms part of the “prescribed ash disposal procedures” carried out in respect of the columbarium.

  3. Abandonment of columbarium
    • A person suspected of having abandoned the columbarium must give a “specified response” within 2 months after a “notice about suspected abandonment” has been issued.

  4. Failure to comply with the specified response given
  5. A person must (a) comply with an undertaking to carry out the “prescribed ash disposal procedures” given in a specified response; or (b) operate the columbarium after he/she has given a specified response to inform the Director/authorized officer that he/she will continue to operate the columbarium.

    The above offences are liable on summary conviction to a fine of $2,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years; or on conviction on indictment to a fine of $5,000,000 and to imprisonment for 7 years.

Religious Ash Pagodas

For application for specified instruments in respect of religious ash pagodas, please click here

跳至主要內容
營辦人資訊
《私營骨灰安置所條例》的主要條文概覽
  • 《私營骨灰安置所條例》申請指引簡介會公告(只供私營骨灰龕業界)
  • 私營骨灰安置所發牌委員會(發牌委員會)是法定的發牌當局,考慮及決定私營骨灰龕的各種指明文書(即牌照、豁免書和暫免法律責任書)的申請。而食環署則負責處理有關執行《私營骨灰安置所條例》的事宜, 包括協助委員會處理指明文書的申請。
  • 《私營骨灰安置所條例》已經生效,任何人士必須取得指明文書,包括牌照、豁免書或暫免法律責任書,才可營辦、維持、管理或以任何其他方式控制私營骨灰龕。
  • 私營骨灰龕必須符合所有適用的法定及政府規定,包括批地契約或其他土地文書、規劃及樓宇安全方面以及提交管理方案(牌照申請適用)等要求,方可獲發指明文書,詳情請按此
  • 有關各種指明文書所准許從事的營運活動的詳情,請按此
  • 私營骨灰龕的開始營辦日期與其可申請的「指明文書」的關係,詳情請按此
  • 私營骨灰龕必須領有牌照,才可售賣新出租龕位。如在刊憲日期或之後訂立龕位出售協議,營辦人必須與買方訂立書面協議,並且符合條例要求,包括協議內容須涵蓋條例訂明的資料、建議及必備條款,否則營辦人不得針對買方強制執行有關協議(見《條例》第49(2)及(3)條),並且買方可向賣方發出書面通知取消有關協議,及獲退還根據協議已付的所有款項。
  • 有意申請豁免書的「截算前骨灰龕」,自2014年6月18日上午8時開始須停止出售新出租龕位,否則會喪失申請豁免書的資格,而只可申請牌照。換言之,必須符合新法例下較嚴格的要求,才能營辦這些骨灰龕。
  • 那些緊接條例生效前正在營運的骨灰龕可享有寬限期(一般為由條例刊憲日起計9個月, 即2017年6月30日至2018年3月29日) 。如就這類骨灰龕申請「暫免法律責任書」,並在9個月屆滿時已提交申請,則寬限期可延至該申請獲最終了結或被撤回時。在寬限期内,合資格的私營骨灰龕可在沒有指明文書的情況下繼續營辦,但不得出售或新出租龕位。
  • 任何人如違反《條例》的規定營辦、維持、管理或以任何其他方式控制私營骨灰龕,可被檢控,一經循簡易程序定罪,可處罰款200萬元及監禁3年;循公訴程序定罪,可處罰款500萬元及監禁7年。

接受申請的時間表
  • 任何人士打算根據《私營骨灰安置所條例》申請牌照或其他「指明文書」,須先參閱申請指引,然後使用申請表格提交申請,並依照申請指引提交所須的證明文件及資料。
  • 私營骨灰安置所發牌委員會現已開始接受指明文書申請。
  • 截算前骨灰安置所的申請須於2018年3月29日或以前提交。這些骨灰龕必須於2014年6月18日早上8時前正在營辦並已有骨灰安放在龕位中。
  • 如有查詢,請致電2892 2731。
  • 相關決策局及部門的查詢電話如下:
各項指明文書的有效期
指明文書類別 有效期
牌照
  • 不得超逾以下兩者中的較短者:
    • 骨灰龕處所租契/租賃餘下的年期
    • 10年
豁免書
  • 不得超逾骨灰龕處所租契/租賃餘下的年期
暫免法律責任書
  • 首次的有效期不超過三年
  • 可在有需要時申請延展期限
  • 除非有特殊情況,否則不可延展多於一次

各種指明文書所准許從事的業務
類別 准許從事的業務
牌照
  • 售賣或出租龕位;以及
  • 一般營運(包括安放骨灰,但須確保存放的骨灰份數,限於有關經批准圖則上顯示的最高數目)。
豁免書
  • 一般營運,但不可售賣或新出租龕位。
  • 於「截算時間」1前已上位的骨灰,可繼續存放。
  • 除以下情況,須確保在該骨灰龕內存放的骨灰的份數,限於「截算時間」在該骨灰龕內存放的骨灰的總份數:
  • (一) 於「截算時間」後並於法例刊憲日前已存放於龕內的骨灰,如符合以下其中一項情況,私營骨灰安置所發牌委員會(發牌委員會)可批准繼續存放-
    1. 有關龕位是於「截算時間」前已購買或開始租用及受供奉者的姓名已記入經批註的登記冊內; 或
    2. 骨灰是安放於宗教骨灰塔(《條例》第57(14)條所界定者)內,而沒有為安放該等骨灰而繳付任何費用、收費或其他款項,亦無須為安放該等骨灰而繳付任何費用、收費或其他款項;
    (二) 於「截算時間」前已購買或開始租用龕位但未有行使或只局部行使安放權者可在豁免書有效期內安放骨灰(受供奉者的姓名須已經記入有關登記冊);以及
    (三) 如華人廟宇的骨灰龕內的「宗教骨灰塔」獲民政事務局局長藉憲報公告指明,可按照民政事務局局長的規定(包括可安放的骨灰的份數)在該「宗教骨灰塔」内存放修行者的骨灰。
    (註: 有關「宗教骨灰塔」的詳情,請按此。)
暫免法律責任書
  • 一般營運,但不可售賣或新出租龕位。
  • 除另有規定外,須確保在該骨灰龕內存放的骨灰的份數,限於在以下時間存放的骨灰的總份數 ──
    1. 如同時申請牌照—2017年6月30日開始時;或
    2. 如同時只申請豁免書—「截算時間」。
    • 於「截算時間」前已安放的骨灰,可繼續存放。
    • 於「截算時間」後並於法例刊憲日(2017年6月30日)前已存放於龕內的骨灰,如符合以下其中一項情況,發牌委員會可批准繼續存放 ——
      1. 有關龕位是於「截算時間」前已購買或開始租用; 或
      2. 骨灰是安放於「宗教骨灰塔」(《條例》第57(14)條所界定者)內,而沒有為安放該等骨灰而繳付任何費用、收費或其他款項,亦無須為安放該等骨灰而繳付任何費用、收費或其他款項。
1「截算時間」是指2014年6月18日上午8時。

私營骨灰龕的開始營辦日期與其可申請的「指明文書」的關係
由以下日期開始
營運的骨灰龕
備註 可申請
「指明文書」的類別
寬限期
在1990年1月1 日前已出售龕位或已安放先人骨灰於龕位內並現時仍在營辦中 必須在緊接2014年6月18日上午8時前正在營辦並已有骨灰安放於其龕位內 豁免書或/及牌照;

可同時申請暫免法律責任書
由2017年6月30日至2018年3月29日的9個月;以及

如該骨灰龕有提交暫免法律責任書的申請:由2017年6月30日起至該申請獲最終了結或被撤回時
在1990年1月1日或以後,並在2014年6月18日上午8時前開始並現時仍在營辦中 牌照;

可同時申請暫免法律責任書
在2014年6月18日上午8時或以後,並在2017年6月30日前 牌照 如屬緊接2017年6月30日前正在營辦中的骨灰龕,由2017年6月30日起計9個月為止(即2018年3月29日)
在2017年6月30日或之後 牌照 不適用

各項指明文書的申請資格要求一覽
申請資格要求 「截算前骨灰龕」(註 1) 非截算前骨灰龕
暫免法律責任書 (必須同時申請牌照或/及豁免書) 豁免書 「截算前骨灰龕」(註 1)牌照 牌照
關乎建築物的規定
關乎規劃的規定
關乎土地的規定
處所使用權
管理方案
骨灰安放布局限制於截算時間的狀況
骨灰安放容量限制於截算時間的狀況
  • 如同時申請牌照:
不適用
  • 如同時申請豁免書:不適用
骨灰安放數量限制於截算時間的狀況
如同時申請豁免書:(註 2)
(註 3)
如同時申請牌照:數量限於2017年6月30日當日開始時
土地佔用範圍限制於截算時間的狀況
開始營辦日期
  • 如同時申請牌照:2014年6月18日上午8時前;
  • 如同時申請豁免書:1990年1月1日前
1990年1月1日前 2014年6月18日上午8時前
從截算時間開始沒有售賣或新出租龕位 如同時申請豁免書:

如同時申請牌照:不適用
關乎公契的規定
註 1:「截算前骨灰龕」是指於緊接「截算時間」前正在營辦、於其內已有骨灰安放在龕位中的骨灰龕。「截算時間」是指2014年6月18日上午8時。
 
註 2:於2014年6月18日上午8時後並於2017年6月30日前已存放於龕內的骨灰,如符合以下其中一項規定,私營骨灰安置所發牌委員會可決定不拒絕有關申請 ─
  1. 有關龕位是於2014年6月18日上午8時前已購買或開始租用; 或
  2. 骨灰是安放於宗教骨灰塔(《私營骨灰安置所條例》第57(14)條所界定者)內,而沒有及無須為安放該等骨灰而繳付任何費用、收費或其他款項。
註 3: 看註2。此外,於「截算時間」前已購買或開始租用的龕位,如未有行使或只局部行使安放權,而受供奉者的姓名已經記入有關登記冊,則可在豁免書有效期內安放骨灰。符合有關「宗教骨灰塔」規定的龕位也可安放骨灰,詳情請按此

妥善處置已安放的骨灰
營辦私營骨灰龕人士須妥善處置骨灰
  1. 任何曾經或正在營辦、維持、管理或以任何其他方式控制某骨灰龕的人士(下稱「經營者」),不得不當地處置安放在其骨灰龕內的骨灰。屬於下列情況的私營骨灰龕,經營者須按《條例》規定進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」:
    • 2017年6月30日或之後開始營辦,而沒有任何有效的指明文書;
    • 2017年6月30日開始之前正在營辦,但寬限期過後,在沒有任何有效指明文書的情況下繼續營辦;或
    • 已棄辦或停辦的骨灰龕。

  2. 經營者可向食環署署長遞交書面申請,提出與「訂明骨灰處置程序」同樣有效的骨灰處置方案。如經營者已就某骨灰龕,進行署長就該骨灰龕批准的骨灰處置方案所指明的程序,則該人須視為已進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」。

  3. 若經營者不恰當地處置骨灰,即屬違法,一經循簡易程序定罪,可被判處罰款200萬元及監禁 3 年,循公訴程序定罪,則可被判處罰款500萬元及監禁 7 年。

  4. 條例亦要求接管骨灰龕處所的人(例如擁有人、承按人、清盤人和受託人等)在接管骨灰龕處所後的7個公曆日內通知食環署署長,並盡快進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」(某些接管人可請求食環署署長替其處置骨灰)(見條例第75條)。

  5. 本網頁是為須要在條例下進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」的人士提供指引,使他們較易明白及掌握條例的要求。本網頁所載的資料並不能取代條例中的任何條文。若業界在履行有關「訂明骨灰處置程序」時遇到任何法律疑問,應考慮徵詢法律意見,以確保遵守有關條例的要求。

進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」的指引
若任何人士須要就某私營骨灰龕進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」,可以參照以下的指引:

進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」的指引

不可棄辦骨灰龕
《私營骨灰安置所條例》已經生效,不論是否領有指明文書的私營骨灰龕,營辦人一旦決定結束有關骨灰龕,必須按照條例進行訂明骨灰處置程序,否則即屬違法。

如食物環境衞生署署長(署長)或獲授權人員懷疑有骨灰龕並非營辦中,該人員可發出懷疑棄辦通告。除非在該通告的日期後的2個月內,有人作出“指明回應”,否則即屬棄辦有關骨灰龕,指明文書持有人或曾營辦、維持、管理或控制私營骨灰龕的人士可被控以棄辦骨灰龕。

以下情況屬“指明回應”:
  1. 以書面告知署長或獲授權人員以該指明文書繼續營辦該骨灰龕;
  2. 提出申請,要求將該指明文書續期或延展;或
  3. 以書面向署長或獲授權人員承諾進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」。

申請佔用令
如《條例》第68、69(1)、70(1) 、72、73或75(2) 條就某骨灰龕遭違反,食環署可向裁判官申請佔用令,進入及佔用該骨灰龕處所,以進行對處置骨灰屬必需的步驟,安排交還骨灰及「相關物品」予市民。食環署署長將向營辧人及其他在條例下負有法律責任的人士追討該等由食環署進行相關骨灰處置步驟而招致的開支。

主要罪行
私營骨灰龕營辦人必須遵守新例。任何人如違反條例的以下規定,即屬違法:
  1. 無牌經營
    • 任何人不可無牌營辦私營骨灰龕,除非私營骨灰龕為「截算前骨灰龕」並獲發豁免書或暫免法律責任書,而沒有出售或新出租骨灰安放權
    • 有關寬限期安排,請按此

  2. 不當地處置骨灰
  3. 任何曾經或正在營辦、維持、管理或以任何其他方式控制某私營骨灰龕的人士(下稱「經營者」),若其私營骨灰龕屬於下列情況,但並沒有進行或完成「訂明骨灰處置程序」,即屬不當地處置骨灰:
    • 2017年6月30日或之後開始營辦,而沒有任何有效的指明文書;
    • 2017年6月30日開始之前正在營辦,但寬限期過後,在沒有任何有效指明文書的情況下繼續營辦;或
    • 已棄辦或停辦的骨灰龕。

    任何經營者處置骨灰,除非符合以下規定,否則屬不當地處置骨灰:
    1. 對於持有指明文書者或2017年6月30日開始之前正在營辦骨灰龕而在寬限期內處置骨灰者: 並非因骨灰龕停辦而須處置骨灰; 以及該項處置是按照出售骨灰安放權協議進行及符合《條例》第68(3)條的其他要求;或
    2. 該項處置屬就該骨灰龕進行的「訂明骨灰處置程序」的一部分。

  4. 棄辦骨灰龕
    • 任何被懷疑棄辦骨灰龕的人士,必須在「懷疑棄辦通告」發出2個月內作出「指明回應」

  5. 違反「指明回應」的承諾
  6. 任何人(a)不可違反就「指明回應」作出的進行「訂明骨灰處置程序」的承諾;或(b)如作出「指明回應」告知署長或獲授權人員該人會繼續營辦有關的骨灰龕,必須繼續營辦該骨灰龕

    以上罪行,一經循簡易程序定罪,可處罰款200萬元及監禁3年;循公訴程序定罪,可處罰款500萬元及監禁7年。

宗教骨灰塔

營辦人如欲提出有關宗教骨灰塔的申請,請按此