The Mobile Education Centre (MEC) under the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) makes visits to schools, housing estates, public parks, etc. Through advanced and educational multi-media approach, the public can obtain more information on food, personal and environmental hygiene. The MEC is open for booking by all organizations free of charge.

Introduction

The MEC is a publicity vehicle powered by liquefied petroleum gas. The body of the vehicle is decorated with cartoons introducing food safety and public hygiene services provided by FEHD. The MEC is equipped with 5 touch screen computer sets to display the information and games of the themes. Explanation will be provided by the staff. Participants can browse the content or participate the interactive computer games by themselves. One to five themes of the followings will be provided during exhibitions:

  1. Personal and Domestic Hygiene;
  2. 5 Keys to Food Safety;
  3. A Closer Look to Nutrition Label;
  4. Pest Control; and
  5. A Guide to After-death Arrangements.

Besides, the MEC is also provided with informative panels and leaflets. The public can know more about the life cycle of mosquito breeding in the Model Corner. The public can also view our video productions at the exterior part of the MEC. Display of panels and delivery of health talks on food and environmental hygiene at the display venue can be arranged upon request. For details, please contact our staff at 2377 1984. Application form can be downloaded from the “Public Forms” in our website.

Schedule of Mobile Education Centre in June 2018:

Date                  Time District         Venue       

1 Jun (Friday)

10:00-15:00

Kwun Tong

HKWMA Chu Shek Lun Secondary School

4 Jun (Monday)

09:30-11:30

Yau Tsim

Kowloon Park

5 Jun (Tuesday)

10:00-16:00

Kowloon City

Munsang College Kindergarten

6 Jun (Wednesday)

14:30-16:00

Mong Kok

Hoi Fu Court

7 Jun (Thursday)

10:00-12:00

Sham Shui Po

Chak On Estate

8 Jun (Friday)

10:00-11:30

Shatin

Mei Lam Estate

11 Jun (Monday)

09:30-11:30

Yau Tsim

Kowloon Park

12 Jun (Tuesday)

10:00-16:00

Kowloon City

Munsang College Kindergarten

13 Jun (Wednesday)

10:00-12:00

Kwai Tsing

Kwai Fong Estate

14 Jun (Thursday)

10:00-12:00

Sham Shui Po

Chak On Estate

15 Jun (Friday)

10:00-11:30

Wong Tai Sin

Chuk Yuen (South) Estate

19 Jun (Tuesday)

10:00-16:00

Kowloon City

Munsang College Kindergarten

20 Jun (Wednesday)

10:00-11:30

Tuen Mun

FDBWA Chow Chin Yau School

21 Jun (Thursday)

09:30-11:30

Kowloon Tong

Holy Family Canossian School (Kowloon Tong)

22 Jun (Friday)

11:10-15:25

Kwun Tong

HKTAYYI Chan Lui Chung Tak Memorial School

25 Jun (Monday)

09:30-11:30

Yau Tsim

Kowloon Park

26 Jun (Tuesday)

10:00-11:15

Central and Western

Hong Kong Park

27 Jun (Wednesday)

14:30-16:00

Mong Kok

Hoi Fu Court

28 Jun (Thursday)

10:00-12:00

Sham Shui Po

Chak On Estate

29 Jun (Friday)

14:30-16:00

Tai Po

Tai Yuen Estate


Note:
Arrangement in case of Typhoon or Rainstorm Warning Signals issued 2 hours before the commencement of the programme:

  • When Typhoon Signal No. 3 or Red Rainstorm Warning or above is issued, the current programme will be cancelled and the event will be postponed;
  • When Typhoon Signal No. 1 or Amber Rainstorm Warning is issued, the programme will continue.

No prior notice will be given in case of cancellation of activities due to adverse weather condition or failure of engine. Please call 2377 9275 for details of the activities.